Harri-jake Ollis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Harri-jake’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 22, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • University of York - Politics
  • From Chorley, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

Friendly, open minded, laid back guy. I make a brilliant roast dinner. I Enjoy a loud night out, but just as happy to chill out and talk. Dont know what else to say, always feel kind of awkward filling.out these things haha. I just try to be myself, and just hope that I get by off that. People tell me.I'm a nice guy though :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been saving up for the past year, working in hotels and doing groundskeeping work to afford a summers backpacking through Turkey, Greece, and (maybe) Italy. Im flying out to Istanbul in early.July and starting west from there, but I'm easy,.and keeping my options open.

Don't get me wrong, I love staying in hostels, but it feels a bit strange to travel through a bunch of.amazing countries and only spend time with Brits, Australians, and Germans.etc. It would be great to meet people from the countries I'm travelling through, so that's why I'm on couch surfing.

Interests

Hiking - Living in the countryside I've really got to love hiking up fells.
Cycling - Nothing better than a day in the saddle.
Books - Everyone needs to get stuck into a Chomsky, or a Bookchin, or just browse the anarchist library .But, giving me a decent fiction and I'm happy enough too.
Politics - Now when I.say 'Politics' I don't mean I want to be a politician - god forbid haha - but, the world is quite clearly dying and it's cos of a certain type of politics, and we.need a.new.revolutionary kind if we.don't want to end up living in some kind of mad max style dystopia.

  • books
  • flying
  • politics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Would probably have to say the Arctic Monkeys are my favourite band, but I wouldnt say im tied to that genre. Im quite happy listening to Mozart or NWA aswell.

In terms of Movies, im just as broad. Take a spectrum from Fight Club to Shawshank Redemption and you can keep me happy. But, I'm really not a fan of action movies. Too simple, predictable .

My favourite book would have to be A Storm of Swords by George R R Martin; the ASOIAF series is the best thing ever. And I'd throw some histories and politicals in after that, maybe John Julius Norwich's history of Byzantium, or some Chomsky.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 16 I raised £3000 and went to Kenya & Tanzania for a month.
As far as life experiences go, taking a chunk out of Africa at such a young age felt pretty amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

Im pretty well read with history and politics, and have some experiences of demos/occupations/squatting, so I can impart some valuable knowledge and stories there.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Fun times :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Germany, Greece, Kenya, Spain, Tanzania, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Harri-jake’s full profile. It’s free!