Wanda Grudzień

Warsaw, Mazovia, Poland

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wanda’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, German, Polish; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • university student
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am 22-year-old girl from Poland, who is open to new possibilities. My adventure with travelling started in 2011, when in spent a month in Ukraine on short term EVS project, where we... renovated a cemetery. :D A year later I went for a similiar project to Berlin - but this time I stayed in Germany for 11 months and I worked with kids in a family centre. In October 2013 I started studing Applied Linguistsics (English and German) in Warsaw. :) Last summer I worked as an au pair in Spain and this summer I will be doing the same job in Ireland!

During my trips I take many photos and I post them on my blog, which you can find here: http://wandziawpodrozy.blogspot.com/). I also like lomography and postcrossing. My great plan for the next ten years is to learn 3 foreign languages (Spanish, Russian and French), so that I will speak five foreign languages when I turn 30. :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I love meeting new people that live in the places I visit in order to get a broader perspective on local culture.


I am interested in photography and lomography (http://lomography.com). You can check my blog here - http://wandziawpodrozy.blogspot.com/. It's mainly in Polish so let the photos speak. ;) My other interest vary - I was a Postcrossing user (http://postcrossing.com)and I tracked Euro notes on http://en.eurobilltracker.com/. Now I am crazy about Loesje (http://loesje.org/) and I take Loesje stickers to every place I travel to. Apart from all that, I have recently rediscovered reading after a long break, so any book recommendations are welcomed. :)

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to the radio mainly, but I like Angus & Julia Stone and Soko. I also listen to such Polish bands as Hey and Happysad. I've recently discovered cinema for myself - I prefer niche films in art houses, preferably from non-English speaking countries. Apart from that, I love reading so I cannot say which book I like the most. A small hint: when I was little I loved "The Six Bullerby Children" by Astrid Lindgren. :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

As I am supposed to choose only one thing I decided it would be fun to show you how this changed with the time passing by. So here we go! ;)

Spent 2 weeks in a mountain hut in Ukraine with no running water with nearly 30 other people, while renovating it. We had to take a shower in a mountain stream every day. :D

Decided to have a gap year - which is not something very common in my country, because young people here want to finish the university as soon as possible and then make a career.

Did the Camino de Santiago (Camino del Norte). It was just breathtaking! Except for the parts next to the motorway/national road. ;)

Had an amazing trip around Ireland, met many wonderful hosts on the way and saw breathtakingly beautiful places!

Teach, Learn, Share

We can cook together Polish dishes which are called after countries or nationalities like cookies "Americans" and "Greek fish". That's usually a great fun and an interesting way to taste Polish cousine. And suprisingly many people are crazy about Berlin, so I can talk for hours about my experinece there. ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

First and foremost, my smile and my stories. :) Apart from that, I always take small gifts from Poland for my hosts and/or I cook for them Polish dinner. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Ireland, Poland, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Wanda’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups