Logo orange

Henk Storm

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Henk's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 284 Positive References4 Neutral1 Negative
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, Dutch, English, Portuguese, Western Frisian; learning Danish, French, German, Italian, Spanish
  • Unspecified age, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • bank employee
  • university
  • From Drogeham, Fryslân
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Make more friends all over the world.

ABOUT ME

I'm an easy-going gay man who likes to meet people from all over the world. I recently moved to London and unfortunately I can't host yet, but feel free to contact me to meet up for a drink or dinner.

PHILOSOPHY

I know it doesn't sound very original, but nevertheless it's true: Treat others like you want to be treated yourself. We're not alone on this planet and it's amazing that with a very small gesture you can actually make someone's day!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Until now I've mainly hosted when I lived in Amsterdam. I mostly couchsurfed with people that had stayed at my place before.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted several times and up to now it has been an amazing experience. With some couchsurfers I actually became very close friends. In my opinion couchsurfers are a special breed of people. They have something to tell and are interested in who you are. For most people it's not just about free accommodation, but much more.

Interests

Travelling, cooking, CS, culture, history

Music, Movies & Books

I'm a little double with this: I love movies with a message, that really make you think and about which you can philosophise for hours. At the same time I also like detectives and read authors like John Grisham and Wilbur Smith that are not exactly high-level literature.
Favourite movies: Fate Ignoranti, Mine Vaganti, O Auto da Compadacida, Do Começo ao Fim, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Goodbye Lenin, Oeroeg, Avatar.
I'm very much interested in other countries and cultures and in what's happening in the world. I read the news several times a day and can spend hours on Wikipedia.
My music taste is very diverse (or you may call it weird ;-). I love music with ethnical/folk influence: fado, Greek, Israeli, Ethiopian, Brazilian, etc.
My favourite artists are Mariza, Rihanna, Marisa Monte, Harel Skaat, Harel Moyal, ABBA, Sarbel, Céline Dion (especially in French), etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Joining CS. It has changed my life!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach languages, Dutch culture and history. I like to talk about culture, politics, religion, cooking, movies, etc.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Henk's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile