Logo orange

Matthaeus Hilpold

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthaeus's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in German, Italian; learning English, Spanish
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Vienna Tecnical University
  • From From Burgstall (South Tyrol)
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

first sort out uni immatriculation business...then - let's see!

ABOUT ME

I grew up in Italy in a family that enjoys traveling a lot, so I developed that passion as well. I maybe be a bit reserved or timid, but I try to work on that - opening up as much as i can. Apart from that I like meeting people and once the conversation starts rolling I can talk about almost anything as I'm a fan of eclecticism! In 2010/'11 I did a year abroad in the UK (Bournemouth, Dorset) which was a great experience: I almost feel at home there as well!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm currently able to host, up to two people! But i enjoy surfing a lot as well

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was hosted together with a friend by Dora in Greece - hope to gain some more cs experience soon! :)

Interests

chess, sciences, Philosophy, Music (I've played the piano for several years, now I'm starting with guitar), Traveling (of course!), human society (...and politics), cultural exchange, jogging, cinema etc. ...

Music, Movies & Books

Music: everything from Gregorian Chorals to modern forms of Rock (metal, hardrock) can potentially catch my interest - every genre has a right time and a right mood where it fits perfectly. I also love to listen music in languages i don't understand (like old norse, gaelic, japanese...anything)

Movies: i generally dislike horrors, and there are few thriller titles I like, but apart from that I watch almost anything

Books: I used to read a lot when I was younger, but the last few years I just read during holidays. I used to read a lot of fantasy, but lately I prefer the good old classics (Orwell, Tolstoy...) or modern Authors (I love Baricco, but also Umberto Eco, even though i've only read il nome della rosa). Again: I'm not a big fan of the thriller genre here...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Scotland: the West-Highland Way - breathtaking Ireland: ditto Paris...anything else to say?

UK: if you're from a rural place like I am, UK is a good place to see what the world has to offer apart from nature and mountains

Apart from that, there are just too many little fun things to do like giving indications without knowing the language, sledging down 1500 meters on a hay slide or even spend a summer night sleeping in a hay shed.

Teach, Learn, Share

I've got much to learn...I'd like to work on my language skills in Spanish and English - I also want to learn a new language, apart from that, any topic that may come up during a conversation is a good way to expand knowledge.

And I think I can teach a thing or two in my native languages Italian and German.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Monaco, San Marino, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Italy, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthaeus's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile