Steph Kretowicz's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Steph’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Polish
  • 33, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Journalist
  • Tertiary graduate
  • From Perth, Australia
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

Freelance journalist, editor and writer of Polish parents, born in Australia, now living in London. I was raised travelling with family, moving between Poland and parts of South East Asia before spending my early 20s backpacking through India, South America, China.

Since living in Europe, I've seen more of Western Europe, North and South East , some Nordic countries. I spent some time travelling through parts of the Middle East and hope to one day reach Russia and the African continent. All this is possible as a freelance writer and shoestring traveller working on the road in music, now art and slowly more and more straight literature.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

There isn't much point of travelling beyond meeting the people that live there. Hotels/hostels look the same and tourist centres don't give much of a sense of a country. Global travel is a huge privilege for which I am grateful. The pay off is little expendable income and precarious working conditions: If I didn't couch surf, I couldn't afford it.


Music, art, travel, culture, reading, film, comedy &c

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • backpacking
  • freelancing
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

V difficult q for a cultural critic but

Music: Micachu, Rihanna, Arca, Sophie, Justin Bieber...
Movies: Maps to the Stars, Hunger Games, Welcome to Me...
Books: Mature Themes, TEX, Infinite Jest, I Love Dick...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Run my own art site:

What I Can Share with Hosts

I guess I can't offer much in terms of skills, except maybe writing if you need an editor. I flatshare so once I get to know someone (for my flatmate's sake), a bed in London (for now) and an ongoing friendship (forever) is always on the cards. I've had many experiences and learnt a lot about the world, as I'm sure most of the people in do too, so there's always that...

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Netherlands, Oman, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Sweden, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia, Poland, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Steph’s full profile. It’s free!