Logo orange

iamhurly

Bangkok, Thailand

Maybe Accepting Guests

87% response rate · Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see iamhurly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 154 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Tagalog; learning French, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • community worker, backpacker, travel...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Update 2015: Currently in Bangkok, Thailand for a few months, working for a social enterprise doing an English language conversation project, trying to practice meditation and study Thai massage... I can host now! Yay! :) If you come, maybe you can join us for a couple of language sessions and talk to the learners about your country and your travels! They'd love to hear your stories :)

-------
I quit my job in 2013 (cliché I know!) to start traveling the world starting with an enriching backpacking trip in South America. It was amazing! I would love to share to you my stories if we have the chance to meet. :)

I spent most of 2014 traveling around Europe and walking the Camino de Santiago in Spain. I walked about 900 kilometers from France to the Atlantic coast of Spain! I documented the trip on htttp://www.facebook.com/WeAreAllPilgrims

Now, 2015, I am in Asia, on the 3rd year of my traveling!

I'd love for you to be part of my adventure! If you can host me or want to travel or just meet up with me, please send me a message. :)

I have a few online sites that I maintain to document my travels around the world. Check it out!

My personal blog: http://www.iamhurly.com

I also started a social project across Brasil where I took pictures of people that I've met and asked them about what it means for them to be Brasilian:

http://www.facebook.com/carasdobrasil

http://www.instagram.com/carasdobrasil

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I have been a couchsurfer host and guest for a few years. I have met and connected a lot of awesome and interesting people being a guest and also as a host. Some of them have became good friends living around the world.

Interests

canoeing, CAMPING, hiking, late night walks, cycling, WRITING, photography, carpentry, arts, craft, massage, spirituality, meditation, movies, MUSIC, philosophy, psychology, languages, history, CULTURE, politics, activism, human rights, environment, etc

Music, Movies & Books

My kind of music is pretty diverse but right now, I am into Brazilian music, samba, pagode, Sergio Mendes, Los Hermanos, Jorge Ben, salsa, Manu Chau, Pink Floyd, The Doors, Bob Marley, etc..

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have lots of stories! Let's meet, have a drink and I can share some of them to you if you promise to share yours too! ;)

- I did the Camino de Santiago in Spain which was amazing. I did it twice! The experience was just incredibly humbling and enriching.

- The Amazonas in Brazil is beautiful. I spent many days traveling by boat and sleeping on a hammock.

- Working for NGO's in Colombia and Brazil was an incredibly rewarding and humbling experience.

-Traveling around South America and meeting incredible, inspiring people

- I also did a project across Canada creating awareness on realities of discrimination by hitch hiking and engaging the people that picked me up in friendly, casual discussions on race and sexuality. And then I blogged about it on www.thumbsupcanada.com. Check it out.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach languages, writing, gardening, art, crafts, how to walk the Camino with a tent, and traveling on a budget, getting the cheapest flights, hostels, etc... or anything I know and have experience with.

I am really a true tester of open mindedness. I like learning and experiencing different things! I'd love to learn how to play a musical instrument, learn more language, woodwork, massage and mediation. But I like learning in general so teach me anything!

I can share my canoe, my tent, my house, my friends, my life and anything that I got. :)

What I Can Share With Hosts

My stories, great company and friendship! :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Colombia, Ecuador, Finland, France, Greece, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, Philippines, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see iamhurly's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile