Isabel Marques's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Isabel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning Spanish
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • Degree Art History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I'm a Portuguese-canadian currently living in Singapore with my family. We have 2 young daughters, Ana (4) and Olivia (2). Previously we lived for 6 years in the United States. My husband Pedro is also an avid couchsurfer and together we have many wonderful experiences to share. (His profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/pqueiros)

Couchsurfing has been a part of my travels for many years now and even though things have cooled down because of our daughters, I feel like they are at the age were we can get back into Couchsurfing without too much hassle. Even though we have couchsurfed with them on a few occasions.

We are opening up our home to travelers once again, specially families. Our daughters love having folks over that will play pretend with them!

I'm an art historian and museum nerd by training but life has presented itself in a way that I now find myself drafting out a business plan to open a Montessori preshcool for when we return to the United States. Becoming a mother has changed me in many ways! I see myself as a very relaxed mom who doesn't freak out too easily. My style of parenting if definitely authoritative (not to be confused with authoritarian!).

I try to have a sustainable lifestyle, but living in SouthEast Asia makes it a bit more challenging that's why we now walk around with metal straws in our bag! I also like to consider ourselves as part time vegetarians as we have cut off meat and fish from our home cooked meals. And slow food is the best food! We are not hardcore environmentalists, but we are thoughtful in the decisions we make and how we can live a more sustainable life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing has enabled me to have some of the best travels ever! And it's never boring to sit down with folks over some hot tea and share experiences.
On the other hand, I love to host people and give them a "home away from home".
On a side note, please don't send me a friend request if we haven't met in person.

Interests

I used to be an avid film photographer, but that has slowed down in the past few years.

I'm really into slow food and making things from scratch: sourdough bread, tempeh, croissants (they take 3 days to make). I've also been enjoying sewing clothes for my girls.

  • photography
  • baking
  • art
  • slow food
  • montessori
  • bossanova
  • natural birth

Music, Movies, and Books

There was a time where I read almost all of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's books.
Nowadays, I'm interested in parenting books that teach Montessori and other authoritative style of parenting.

I'm very faithful to Bossanova style of music and I'll listen to it every time I feel like there's nothing else to listen to! But I'm also keen on jazz, folk, indiefolk.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Road-tripped across Morocco.
Went to Burning Man.
Got married twice to the same person.
Gave my grandmother the best trip of her life!
Birthed 2 daughters with no painkillers and in record time.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy cooking a meal so if you stay with us or if we are hosted by someone, I always love to prepare a meal so we can all sit around a table of food and share a good conversation.
I used to be a baker, so I have plenty of baking tips to share.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cayman Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Malaysia, Morocco, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Portugal, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Isabel’s full profile.

My Groups