Ilka Braun's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilka’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Cultural Studies, History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hey there!
I´ve just started my couchsurfing experience - there´s been couch surfes before, so to say, but I only just joined the homepage.
I guess it came about because I am planning my trip to the US in a few weeks - not the first trip where I could´ve couchsurfed, but I have to admit: Even more than in other countries, I love and miss US everyday life. I lived in Michigan as a student for ten months and enjoyed myself immensly. Knowing I was going back to the States, I knew that the best, maybe even the only way was to find people to connect with, because while I am excited to see the sights and the countryside, I am just really excited to be back with all these open and friendly people :)
After my trip, I´ll move to a new city to study, so hopefully there I´ll be able to give back and have a couch ready for everyone happy to use it :)

Now, that might not have been much "About me", but...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I´ve taken a few trips with friends, sticking to the group, I´ve taken trips where I stayed on my own, and I did the South East Asia circus, meeting backpackers. All of those are very fun.
But if for example I compare my first experience in Thailand, spending more time in one place, living with local buddhist monks, to the second time, staying in hostels... Well, both were fun times, but the first time will forever stay one of my favorite and intensive experiences, because I learned so much about culture and everyday life... So that´s what I want to do more, and here I am!

Interests

I love singing and playing the guitar - although my goal for the past years has been to become "campfire material", as in, actually be able to play songs by heart. Well, unfortunately I am still not there, so I´ll hide in my room with my sheet music :)
I love dancing, but just hanging out in a bar with great people, or good old game night, are perfectly great ways to spend an evening.
Two things I´d still like to get more into are hiking and climbing. I haven´t done either as much as I´d like, but I am optimistic that there´ll be more chances in the future.
Quite obvious for a couch surfer: I love travelling. I especially love South East Asia and will go back there whenever I´ll get the chance. I´ve also decided to work on my Spanish, so maybe there´s a trip to Central America in the near future...

Music, Movies, and Books

Some of my favorite songs and artists I found out about through friends, I love recommendations! Some all time favorites are Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, Wakey Wakey, Missy Higgins... I like anything folky a la The Avett Brothers, Lumineers, Mumford and Sons and so on. Also, German Hip Hop, especially Die Orsons, Casper and Moop Mama. Good stuff! Most of the time I just put songs I heard onto my Spotify list though, it´s quite a random mix by now :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I´ll stick to the one already mentioned: Spending three weeks in a buddhist monastery and being able to hear and learn about their lives, have them teach me a bit of their language and hopefully helping them a bit with their english as well :) Since then, I have an unhealthy fascination with Thailand. I might just have to move there for a while to get it out of my system. Or just move there.

Teach, Learn, Share

Do you love to make music? If I know the music, I´ll be happy to join in :D Also, I really like history, so I am always happy to hear people´s takes on history and what interests them the most.

What I Can Share with Hosts

What I can share... Apart from a great lot of appreciation, I think I am quite a decent cook. Now don´t expect a four star menu... But I do okay :D I am also really easygoing, which means: I´ll be extremely happy if you have time available to show me around or just spend some relaxing time with me. But I also totally get it if you´ve got stuff to do. I hate the pressure that comes with high expectations of guests etc., so I definitely don´t want to put that on you.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, Cambodia, France, Hungary, Italy, Laos, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Poland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ilka’s full profile. It’s free!