Indrek Soidla's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Indrek’s full profile.

Overview

  • 58 references 51 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Estonian, German; learning Russian
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Junior Lecturer of Social Analysis
  • Sociology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In 2015, my wife and I came back from a year-and-a-half-long trip to Ocenia, Asia and the Middle East. Since then, I've been working at the University of Tartu, also trying to finish my PhD thesis in sociology (on postsocialist transformations and market transition theories). We have three small kids and we're slowly approaching the end of renovating our apartment in a 100-year-old wooden house. We haven't travelled abroad much lately but we can travel by hosting others.

The most important thing for me when I travel is to learn something, be it about culture, nature, the people I talk to, or my own personality and fitness. I guess that's why I prefer solid conversations to wild parties. And while I like being around people and learning from others first-hand, I also need time to give a thought to what I see and experience around me. As an experienced traveller once said, travelling itself takes up only a third of the journey; another third is taken up by learning about the country you go to before you even leave home, and a third will be spent on making sense of everything you experienced.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To host and to visit. To make travelling more interesting and more enjoyable. And to keep costs of travelling down.

Interests

In no particular order because the list keeps changing: parenting, hiking, religion, survey methodology, data science, postsocialist societies, social issues, restoration and renovation, reading travelogues and travel guides, graphic design and photography

  • culture
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • politics
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • history
  • languages
  • religion
  • sociology
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: 70's-inspired prog rock, e.g. Rush, everything by Neal Morse (Spock's Beard, Transatlantic, NMB, etc), The Tangent, Dixie Dregs, Lifesigns, Karfagen, Põhja Konn
Books: Bible, literature on survey methods and quantitative data analysis, travelogues and travel guides
Movies: Tangerines, Son of Saul, Kon-Tiki

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Proposed. Got married. Became a father.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you learn some useful Estonian phrases (e.g. for hitchhiking) and tell you about my home country (everyday life, society and politics, history, sightseeings). As I've lived in New Zealand for some time, I can give you a few tips about where to go and what to see there. If you need some advice on hitchhiking, I might be able to help you (I've hitchhiked in several parts of Europe, Asia, North/Central America, and the South Pacific).

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversations and insights into culture, history, society, politics. Space on the floor. Food in the fridge and the cupboard.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, El Salvador, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Iran, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Germany, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Indrek’s full profile.

My Groups