Ingrid Hoekstra

Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Western Frisian; learning German
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Full-time student and part-time waitress
  • International Bachelor of Medicine, Golbal Health Profile
  • From Bergum, Friesland, Netherlands
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Explore the world in all its beauty and meet inspiring people


Dear all,

My name is Ingrid. I'm a 20-year-old medical student living in the lovely student city, Groningen. Groningen is a small city in the North of the Netherlands. There are lots of students, which makes it lively and interesting to meet new people. One and a half year ago, I was given the lucky opportunity to start the international medicine bachelor program. My classmates come from anywhere in the world, making our class a mixture of different cultures, which I love. Still now, I get amazed every day by different habits, beliefs, opinions..


Live life to the fullest and enjoy being yourself and respect all others so that they can live their lifes to the fullest and enjoy being themselves.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


When I will be traveling, I'd love to meet locals and learn to see the world through their eyes and culture and in return I'd love showing people around in my own city and neighbourhood.


I've been hosting:
Polish people (many times)
A hungarian exchange student (2011)
Two Indian girls during the ISCOMS congress (2012)

I've not yet surfed a couchsurfer's couch myself.


Some random things I like:
people with a sense of humor, cycling in the early morning, pancakes, the sound of accordeon in modern music, getting lost in cities, handpans, impulsive actions, spicy food, wine, visiting friends in different countries, trampoline jumping, learning languages, the smell of coal stoves, watching bad auditions on youtube, windsurfing, going to music shops just to play on the pianos, trying new/strange sports, building longboards, prison documentaries, sauna, lomography, going out till the morning, wintersport and more...

Music, Movies, and Books

Some things I love to watch:
The Killing, Borgen, House, 24, Homeland, Desperate Housewives, documentaries, Flikken Maastricht, Sex & The City, romantic comedies, thrillers

In term of music, I got quite a wide taste ranging from deep house to classical piano music, depending on my mood, the situation, playing/listening.

Seen live:
Lamb, Svava, Patrick Watson, Francois and the Atlas Mountains, Anna Calvi, Chef'Special, Krezip, Room Eleven, The Dodos, Jamie Cullum, Good Charlotte, 30 Seconds to Mars, Chemical Brothers, Van Velzen, The Prodigy, Kees van Hondt, Kaiser Chiefs, Flogging Molly, Skunk Anansie, De Jeugd van Tegenwoordig, Vive la Vete, Within Temptation, Amatorski, Captain Oats, Amsterdam Sinfonietta

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visiting Barcelona and hearing the wonderful sounds of the Panart Hang in Parc Guell... a life changing experience!

Seeing real dolphins jumping out of the water just a few metres away from our boat in Croatia.

A real Polish 18th birthday party with all their crazy habits (drinking vodka like it's water, 18 butt slaps from guests with a belt..)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you about the Dutch culture and and maybe some Dutch cooking, although I have to admit I'm not the best cook myself. It'll be fun though :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Ingrid’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups