Logo orange

Helga Smit

Amsterdam, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

33% response rate · Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Helga's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 21 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in Dutch; learning English, French, German, Spanish, Turkish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • art
  • religion studies (no, that is not th...
  • From Amsterdam, North Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

exploring the world together with a lovely girl

ABOUT ME

I am a mom, living with my 5 year old daughter near the centre of Amersfoort.

Since I take care of her 24/7 Zoë will be around to host you aswell. I am currently working in art (or trying to). So for me that is a way to mix being a mom and work, so that I can plan my hours around her. And finally after all this time I am following my dream.

So I might have time to show you around Amersfoort or an other city (as long as I know it, otherwise we can go exploring together).

My study was religion. I am mostly interested in woman and religion, Islam, and New Religious Movements (cults).

I like to read, paint, write, organise, dance, tai chi, going to festivals, theater. I love to explore the world with Zoë and I feel so lucky I am allowed to discover and see the world through her eyes.

Zoë likes to play, contact with people, to talk (a lot), draw, dance, all animals, running everywhere, riding her bike and everything that makes her look pretty (althaugh she already is).

I can be a bit shy at first or in groups, but I will come loose after a while. Zoë is the outgoing one of the two. She will make everything into one big party (in a nice way). She is lovingly to everyone and she can be so funny (even without words).

PHILOSOPHY

Surf the waves of life

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I want to host and surf and I am in for a lot of things, so showing Amersfoort or go exploring somewhere else.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Experience so far:

hosted
- Larissa and Tony from South Afrika
- Heart Gate from the Netherlands
- Hyewon from South Korea
- Christian from Canada (and Mexico) came to visit us
- spend a day with Christian from Malta

surfed with
- Ilse in Leuven
- Jane in London (2 times)
- Viviane in Gent
- Elif in Mavangat (well, we did not sleep there, but spent much time with her and her family and came back to visit her again)
- spent a nice day in the park with Shelly and her son Brian
- Wafaa in Istanbul (4 times)
- Kubra and Osman in Istanbul met her 1st, surfed with them later
- Asli and her parents in Istanbul
- Isil from Istanbul, spend a day together with her, her son and her mom
- Gonül from Kas, met her for a drink
- Paul from Madrid
- Bilal from Tangier, we met trough my host
- Wafaa's family in Kenitra, altaugh they are not in cs
- Fahd from Rabat
- Serena from Tangier
- Antonio from Madrid
- Yannis from Babakale
- Hande from Urla

hope to have more soon

And I both hosted and surfed friends and friends of friends before I knew about CS.

Interests

I am interested in meeting new people and learning about different cultures, different life-styles and to hear nice story's.

Music, Movies & Books

books: Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, Solitary Misery (most of Jostein Gaarders work)
movies: Harry Potter, Mirrormask, Catch me if you can, Tarantino movies
music: Michael Franti, Chilli Peppers

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Giving birth, wave surfing (not that I am that good, but I like it), travelling alone with Zoë
Being up on stage with Michael Franti in a sold out Paradiso, playing the guitar (I didn't even know that I could). Slept in a tree in Olympos (after 10 years of longing to do that). Rode a camel in the Sahara.

Teach, Learn, Share

you can ask me everything about religion. I don't know everything, but I will do my best to answer.

It takes a village to raise a child, so feel free to teach Zoë what ever you like and she is interested in. At least I hope to show her through CS that our way of living is not the only one and is not better or worse than someone else's, only different. And that is what makes life interesting.I hope Zoë will pick up a few english words.

I hope we can share a good time and some good laughs.

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Helga's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile