Isobel Zimsek's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Isobel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I lived and worked in Colombia for two years, and last year (pre-pandemic!) went on a big trip to New Zealand, Australia, Vietnam and Myanmar. I'm now back in the UK working with refugees and vulnerable migrants in my dream job! I have a huge passion for, and fascination with, Latin America and I'm already thinking about when I can next go back. My world travel wish list currently includes India, Canada, Poland, Japan, Brazil and Cuba. I'm trying to see 30 countries before I turn 30, I'm on 25 so far!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet people from all over the world and gain a better insight in to the places I visit. I have had some great experiences through Couchsurfing and met amazing people who have welcomed me in to their homes, families, friendship groups and cities!

Interests

I like cooking, baking, trying out new recipes (and eating of course!) Working out keeps me sane, I used to go to the gym but I've now replaced it with pole fitness and workouts on the side. I'm trying to get stronger and more flexible! I also spend a lot of time keeping up my languages, and this year I want to learn Arabic. I love podcasts, music, reading, comedy, writing, spoken word, independent cinema, and board & card games. Volunteering is a big part of my life; my main areas of interest are refugee and migrant rights, education in emergencies, women's empowerment and LGBT+ rights.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • boardgames
  • pole fitness
  • aerial hoop

Music, Movies, and Books

I read anything I can get my hands on! I particularly love Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, García Márquez, Colm Toibin, Dolly Alderton and Caitlin Moran. I am currently reading Les Faux-Monnayeurs by André Gide for an online book club. My favourite book is probably 'Giovanni's Room' by James Baldwin, and if you love travelling I'd recommend 'Travels with Herodotus' by Ryszard Kapuscinski.

I love reggae, hip hop, motown, funk and soul, salsa, cumbia, folk, protest music, jazz... Some artists I've seen live in the past few years: Bomba Estereo, Tallest Man on Earth, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Buena Onda Social Groove, Grace Petrie (hero), Fat Freddy's Drop, The National.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you with your English/French/Spanish if you want to learn or improve :) I have quite a lot of teaching experience and can improvise with limited resources.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to cook and share meals. I am happy to chat to you about anything and everything, and share stories!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, France, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Isobel’s full profile.