Ivo Skolek's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivo’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Trying to find and enjoy various things, that life can bring
  • grammar school Křenová, in June 2013 a finished masters d...
  • From Brno
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live and work in New Zealand for a while and continue "around the world" trip with my partner :-).

ABOUT ME

Open-minded. I love trying new things, visiting new places, experiencing. I try to live various life. I find myself friendly and easygoing. I dont like screaming and hysteria. Sometimes I am a bit slow when deciding what to do.
Yeah and my sense of direction is pretty bad - hope that travelling will help me to improve this :-).

PHILOSOPHY

cycles, evolution, purpose

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had a very nice first Couchsurfing experience in Paris in Europe a few years ago. But my best Couchsurfing experience are recent from New Zealand - we met awesome, kind people, their families and our hosts helped us a lot to start living in New Zealand.

Interests

I love travelling (mountains, cities...), reading books , watching movies. I play the piano a bit - not professional, just for fun. I like organising party at my cottage for my friends. I collect and read comics. I like sports - running, skiing, tourism, squash, swimming. I like good food and drink. I enjoy cooking - especially barbecue :-).
I really love music - its a very important part of my life. Genre does not matter - depending on my mood I listen to jazz, trance, classical, rock n roll, oldies, electronic.
My plans for the future are work one year fulltime as SAP consultant (thats a job I have done halftime during all the years at university) and in 2014 quit the job and travel for 1 year around the world. Hope that CouchSurfing could help me to manage it.
I have created a blog about this plan - http://mitcharoundworld.blogspot.cz/ - but its only in Czech now, maybe I'll prepare an English version sometime.

  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • bbq
  • running
  • partying
  • drinking
  • comics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • jazz
  • piano
  • skiing
  • sports
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tourism
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Murakami, Remarque, Sophie's Choice, Hesse, Exupery, Tolkien.

Movies: One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, Drive, David Lynch

Series: Black Books, Twin Peaks

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I planned "around the world trip" for 2 years - this included finishing the university, earning money, finishing my job, lots of preparation and lots of vaccination :-). And now its happening - I set off in August 2014 with my partner Lenka. We heard live jazz in New York, traveled and and camped 5 weeks around beautiful west of USA, flew to sandy beaches of Hawaii and from there to amazing New Zealand. We volunteered at a farm, worked in a cafe on a rainy West Coast. We met our parents, traveled together for 3 weeks around South Island, slept in a van on a bed that farmer built for us. Now we live at a friends house in Auckland, great couchsurfer who let us to stay here :-).

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: "modern traveller" tips and websites, living and working in New Zealand
Learn: Enjoying the moment, spontainety, sense of direction, English, Spanish

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cook Islands, Croatia, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivo’s full profile. It’s free!