Ivy D'Auton's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Māori
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Self Employed Corsetière + Costumer
  • BSc in Zoology + Psychology; Royal Schools of London Music
  • From New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

:: LIFE ::

I'm a New Zealander currently living in Melbourne, Australia. My time is divided between working, crossfit, hiking, cycling, cooking, travelling, socialising with friends and spending time with my partner. I've been vegan (by choice) for 10 years and gluten free (not by choice *cries*) for a year. I have a BSc in both zoology and psychology however I work in fashion. I'm heavily tattooed courtesy of a lot of beautiful artists I know allowing me to be their canvas. I respect the artistic process, body modification/decoration and permanence of tattooing but am in no way a badass haha. Tattooing is a cultural norm in NZ. I'm a multi-instrumentalist, predominantly piano, guitar, clarinet, flute and sax. I ride a single-speed bicycle daily which I absolutely love. When I'm not working I like to spend time at the gym, hiking or cycling around local trails. As far as my personality goes, I'm very down to earth, open-minded, easy going and light-hearted. I enjoy a good chat and a good laugh with good people - life doesn't need to be any more complicated than that.

:: WORK ::

I've had many jobs over the years - everything from cleaning, making coffee, office admin and selling dresses through to working on the end of a chainsaw in forestry, making housing insulation and recording bands! However, I've had my own business for about 10 years now making custom corsets, costumes and bridal wear (www.asphyxiacouture.com). This keeps me ridiculously busy and so the holiday I'm about to take around Europe will be my first big holiday in 10 years!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My Partner Brett & I will be driving around EU for 2 months in Aug - Oct '17 and am looking for hosts in the various places I am stopping because I want to meet locals not just stay with other tourists, removed from the people and culture. And so far I've met some amazing people!

We don't require much - somewhere to sleep, a shower and a friendly face. We're not party people and are very respectful of people's homes and way of life. Our EU itinerary is very packed so we'll be arriving early evenings in most places and leaving early in the morning.

Interests

  • animals
  • design
  • tattoos
  • animal welfare
  • philanthropy
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • crossfit
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • marine science
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • quantum physics
  • performance art
  • weightlifting
  • astrophysics
  • mixed martial arts

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Tech Metal, Acoustic Singer/Songwriter, Prog, Post Rock, Hardcore, Jazz, Experimental

Film: Mr Nobody, Earthlings, Cosmos, Stand-up Comedy, anything funny or thought-provoking.

Text: Shantaram, The Mountain Shadow, Teaching My Mother How To Give Birth,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Drove solo around EU for 2 months.

- Hiked Hardergrat - Augsttmatthorn.

- Hiked the Southern Alps of NZ for two weeks.

- Swam with wild dolphins in Kaikoura.

- Kayaked to Donut Island - a secret beach inside an island!

- Got picked up whilst hitch-hiking by 3 newly released prison inmates (who didn't kill me haha)!

- Vegan + self-employed for 10 years.

- Crowdfunded to directly supply schools and orphanages in The Gambia, as well as put a refugee child into schooling who was working unpaid in the clothing trade.

- Ran a soup kitchen project (am looking to do similar again in Cambodia).

- Currently working on a project with Indigenous Australian communities to provide solar power, water filters and health basics.

- Currently working on an renewable-energy vegetable farming project in NZ.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always keen to learn new things and share experiences with people.

I'm happy to share my knowledge about music, philosophy, psychology, environmental awareness, vegan cooking, Maori language/dance/culture, Pacific Island language/dance/culture, NZ/AUS travel tips, yoga, business, social media marketing, how to play shithead (card game) or just generally share life stories!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Ivy’s full profile. It’s free!