Jacob Moerch's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jacob’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Danish, English, Norwegian, Swedish; learning French
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Student, Norwegian School of Economics
  • United World Colleges, Norwegian School of Econ
  • From Porsgrunn, Telemark, Norway
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Howdy hello, I'm Jacob!
I'm a Norwegian adventurer, minimalist and aspiring entrepreneur who love to explore and dive into new places and cultures (ding ding, there went the cliché bell).

Officially speaking, I am currently studying at the Norwegian School of Economics in Bergen, on Norway's beautiful west coast. In practical terms, that essentially means that I spend my time, and the governmental students' loan, on travelling the world as much as possible.

Before uni, I went to an amazing boarding school in Wales, UK, which is nothing like your idea of a british boarding school. UWC Atlantic College was started as an idealistic peace project during the cold war, and its focus is on grassroot peace building by connecting youngsters from all corners of the world.
This incredible experience is really what kickstarted my love for everything international (hard to avoid when my co-students came from 91 countries..).
As my peers in Norway are a fairly homogenous group of caucasian upper middle class amigos, I have to escape to taste the real world on a consistent basis.

I'm a huge fan of minimalism as a mentality and way of life, and I'm always looking for stuff and clutter to kick out and get rid of. If I ever get to stay at your place when travelling, I'll probably pop by with a carry-on and nothing else. Works for me.

By the way, I'm also a real person. Find (stalk) me on..
Instagram: http://instagram.com/jacob.moerch
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jacobmoerch

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Primarily to meet people like you, secondarily to get know-how about the best street-food in town, and thirdly to save money so I can travel more, see more, and eat more. I've been hosting people at home a lot, but since I'm a poor student without income (and a super cynical business student, muhahaha), I've primarily used Airbnb + internal networks that my UWC alumni base uses to find places to sleep. (see my Airbnb-profile with 50-60+ reviews here: https://www.airbnb.co.in/users/show/4084088 )

Whenever I go abroad, I try to crash at a friend of a friend (continue the chain until free couch shows up) of a friend's house, again usually from the United World Colleges alumni network. However, Couchsurfing has been on my mind for a while. Now it's time to give it a shot, finally!

(If you think I'm a freakshow that cannot be real, because I created a profile in 2011 but I'm going on my first surf in 2015, I completely understand. Let me know if you want to see my daring face on skype beforehand to ensure I'm actually real and legit!)

Interests

I love basically everything international! I've lived in several countries on three continents, most of my closest friends live in different time zones from me, and I count my money not in terms of Norwegian Kroner, but in terms of "days on the road".

I love food, and gastronomic experiences fill a big part of my travel to-dos. Local cuisine specialities eaten in their "natural habitats" are the best, of course. I also enjoy cooking myself – if you do too, let's whip up some food together!

Right now I'm in a really entrepreneurial mood, constantly generating and refining more or less ridiculous startup schemes in my head. This summer (2015) I'm interning at a tech startup in Silicon Valley, and doing entrepreneurship-courses at UC Berkeley. Of course, "you don't learn until you launch", so I have to kick off one or two of my current business schemes sooner or later.

  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • drinking
  • technology
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • minimalism
  • cycling
  • adventure races
  • business
  • economics
  • entrepreneurship

Music, Movies, and Books

Book: "Shantaram" is high up there, one of the best stories I've ever read. Made even better by travelling through Mumbai and having a drink at Leopold Café.

Movie: "12 Angry Men" appeals to the idealist in me. Fantastic classic.

Guilty pleasure: I love watching Downton Abbey. Yep, it's actually true.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moving around! Leaving home to move to Wales when I was 17 was pretty intense. Moving to Belgium to learn french (and drink beer) was also amusing. I challenge you to try to explain the of liquid you use to unblock a clogged bathroom plumbing vent (heck, I don't even know the word in english) to a 15y old kid in the supermarket, in a language you can't speak. Hilarious body language GUARANTEED!

Teach, Learn, Share

I shall teach thy.. the world's most useful language. Polar bears only speak Norwegian, so you better learn your "pell deg vekk"-lingo sooner rather than later. "There are some things you may only need to know one time.. but that could save you life because you had that knowledge".

I'm pretty good at technical aspects of photography. If you own a DSLR (i.e. huge-ass camera), but you use it in green setting (fool's mode), I'll hit you up with some ISO, aperture and shutter speed basics.

(I really wish I could say "I'll teach you to mudslide like a champ", "build a bike out of lego" or "one day with me, and you'll be an upcoming bollywood-style singer-songwriter", but I have no clue about either of those. If you can teach me, however – match made in heaven!)

What I Can Share with Hosts

COOKING!! I love making food with or for others, so give me a kitchen and two hours, and we're onto something.

Of course, our friends from the road are always welcome to our place in Bergen, Norway – the gateway to the fjords.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, China, Cook Islands, Denmark, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, India, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Viet Nam, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Jacob’s full profile. It’s free!