Jacob Adler's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 21 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jacob’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 56 References 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning Ukrainian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • computers
  • not really :]
  • From Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

In Lviv for a few months :]

I'm a permanent traveler at the moment.

I am happy to try new things and to accept life for what it is. I've slept on floors, hitchhiked, dumpster dived, lived in squats, camped on a mountaintop during winter and rode a crowded bus in rural Georgia with 2 kids on my lap. Willing to help people when I can, and glad to accept help sometimes too. I've done a few interesting things in my time and met some totally awesome people too.

I don't believe in a piece of paper that supposedly grants me "rights". I don't believe, that because I was born in a particular geographical location, your special contract applies to me, and my family. I don't vote. I believe there are no good politicians or policemen. I try to take care of myself.

I'm anti-racist, anti-misogynist, pro-feminist, pro-queer, anti-capitalist and anti-systemic-oppression of any kind.
I dislike western imperialism and colonial history a lot.

If your opinions are different than mine, I'll probably still be happy to host you.

Motto: Be cool. Don't be an asshole.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAuQTZ3Btfk

I think the idea of helping people for free and getting to know other cultures is incredible!!! I didn't have a single negative experience so far!

I've hosted more than I've surfed.

I don't surf because I need free accommodation. I could stay in a hotel nowadays. I surf because I want to see how you live and hear your opinion about your place and the world.

Although if you surf just because you need free accommodation, I will host you, If I have a place, because I think, we should all share what we have.

My home is your home.

Interests

There are few more eye-opening things, than walking and camping alone in the mountains.

I'm not really a vegan, but I'm trying to eat less products of animal origin.

I'm into some strange music genres like spectral, shoegaze, noise, minimalism, fractal, drone, etc. Would like to know more good things.

I love ballet, contemporary dance, improv dance, theatre.

Music, Movies, and Books

Big favorites:
Writers: Kurt Vonnegut, J.D. Sallinger, Albert Camus, Marek Hłasko, Max "The Destroyer of Worlds" Stirner, Gilles Deleuze, Henry David Thoreau, David Foster Wallace

Directors: Richard Linklater, Jim Jarmusch, Wong Kar-Wai, Kim Ki-duk.

Music: Built to Spill, The Smiths, Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra, GY!BE, Shostakovich, Rachmaninoff, Anthony and the Johnsons, Bonnie Prince Billy, Scott Walker, The Replacements, Glen Hansard, Broken Social Scene, The Refused, Jackson C. Frank, Johnny Hobo, Crass, Pavement, Gerard Grisey, Genesis(Peter Gabriel), Nick Cave, Arvo Pärt, Burial, Madrugada, Neil Young, XTC, Yeezy...

Seinfeld.
Reddit.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking from Poland to Spain.
Playing guitar on stage.
First photography exhibition.
Walking the Camino de Santiago.
Visiting the zone(Chernobyl) in Ukraine.
10-day silent meditation retreat.
First earthquake.
Working with geishas in Tokyo.
Learning butoh with Yoshito Ohno.
Camping in a summer tent at the top of a mountain in Japan in winter.
Hiking, camping, taking pictures of Fuji-san.
Danced in a butoh duo with a Japanese master in the Palace of Culture in Warsaw.
Hiking and camping alone for a week around Sao Miguel (Azores) - most beautiful place I've ever seen.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you with buying a domain name, webserver and setting up a simple Wordpress website or whatever. I can also show you how to get all those things for free (freenom+000webhost or github pages or heroku). I can give you tips if you want to learn web development or pure programming.

teach: photography, post-processing(photoshop, lightroom, rawtherapee), artisan bread baking, basics of guitar and bass, most things related to computers. I can teach you how to solve a 2x2 or 3x3 Rubik's cube without complicated algorithms. Basic juggling with 3 balls.

learn: I would like to learn more guitar/bass or some percussive instrument and music theory. I'm interested in learning new languages and any musical instruments.

What I Can Share with Hosts

bread

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cambodia, Japan, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Jacob’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups