Jalun Haokip's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jalun’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Social Worker
  • Master of Social Work
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel and explore as much as the world offers.

ABOUT ME

Hi, I am originally from Manipur, a small state in north east India, bordering Burma. I came to Australia in 2008 to study Master of Social Work at Flinders University, Adelaide and have been working as a child protection social worker for the government of South Australia since I completed my study in 2010.

I love adventure and travelling. I have not had the chance to travel much before, however, I have begun travelling lately and would like to travel to a new country or two every year.

I love travelling because it gives me so much practical experience of diverse culture and people.

I love cooking curries and rice and my friends know me for my cooking - I love cooking for friends and guests in particular, so you can definitely expect to eat curry if you happen to be my guest :)

I am currently based in Coober Pedy, the opal capital of the world, about 840 kms north of Adelaide, working as a child protection social worker with Aboriginal children and their families - the main reason why I chose to work in Coober Pedy Office. My work area covers from Coober Pedy to Oodnadatta and the whole of the APY Lands which in total is more than a third of the total area of South Australia State and bigger than the whole of Victoria State - you can imagine how much travelling and driving can be involved in my work. One community on side of my work area is close to Northern Territory border and another on the other side to Western Australia.

I live in a 2 bedroom underground (dugout) house and I found that a dug-out is perhaps the best place to sleep in. Be prepared to stay in an underground house if you come and you may find it a great experience.

PHILOSOPHY

To love one another

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have not experienced couch surfing, that's why I want to try it.

Interests

My interests revolves around travelling, meeting new people and making friendship. I like listening to music and singing, actually humming, when I'm on my own and singing in a group at church. I also like walking, hiking and doing adventurous activities, sometimes extremes.

I like reading news and discussing current affairs.

  • culture
  • singing
  • cooking
  • walking
  • flying
  • boating
  • news
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • rock climbing
  • social work

Music, Movies, and Books

action movies

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have been in car accident on two occasions while driving in Australia's extreme-outback and on the last accident I was evacuated by the Flying Doctors to the nearest hospital, which is Alice Springs Hospital. I have also met with a boat accident in the sea in which I and 2 of my friends were stranded in the water for more than 2 hours before being rescued by a sea squadron who spotted us randomly.

Apart from the not so good adventure experience, I enjoyed climbing the 'very steep' Mt Amos in Tasmania and a mount across the famous Cradle Mountain in Tasmania. I like to do more climbing the near future and experience many more adventures.

Countries I’ve Visited

Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, India

Join Couchsurfing to see Jalun’s full profile. It’s free!