Jan Hamalčík's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Czech, English, German; learning Spanish, Swedish
  • 20, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Österreichisches Gymnasium Prag
  • From Pelhrimov, Vysocina Region, Czech Republic
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I am an open, friendly, communicative and ambitious student who likes to experience something new every day. This is probably the reason I love learning new languages.

As I like everything really neat, my friends sometimes call me a perfectionalist. They also see me as an optimistic person but I consider myself being rather a realist.

I don't smoke, drink occasionally and don't do any drugs. I like to keep myself healthy and clean.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'd like to couchsurf, because I'd like to meet new people outside of the Czech Republic, while traveling. And I would also like to discover the culture of the countries I'm visiting from the first hand.

Interests

I like sports in general. I play golf the most. I get really passionate when I stand with my driver in the teebox and watch the ball fly at least 250 meters down the fairway. And the sound of the ball falling into the hole after a successful putt is just awesome.

The 100m sprint is a real hell for me. But long distances, that's something I really enjoy. I tend to run in the morning and I like to discover new places while running.

Music is great. I am open to mostly all genres, but I preffer jazz. From 30s to 50s. I myself play bass and flute. I also love to try out new instruments. So sometimes I sit in front of my brother's drums, play his guitar, and I also borrow altosax or trombone at times.

Preparing food is a relaxing activity for me. I seldom say no, when I'm asked to cook something. But you cannot expect any culinary miracles from me.

In my school, I'm being confronted with 4 different languages every day. But as I am an ambitious person, this isn't enough for me. Currently, I'm learning 5 and I am heading for 10. This will hopefully happen during my future university studies.

I'd like to develop apps for iOS. Because of this, I chose it as my pre-scientific work at my school. After graduation, I will enroll myself in Sweden for computer studies.

  • cooking
  • running
  • music
  • golf
  • languages
  • programming

Music, Movies, and Books

As I already mentioned before, I love jazz. Louis Prima, Louis Jordan & his Tympany Five, or Ondřej Havelka & his Melody Makers are my favorites. Also, classical music from Strauss gets me very excited. But don't get me wrong! I love modern stuff too!

Movies... well, I like watching them. But I can't name only one movie that is my favorite. There are many. I am more into series. Sherlock and the swedish/danish Bron are the ones I enjoy the most at the moment.

I really enjoy reading crime and comedy. If someone recommends me a book to read, then I try to get the book in the original language - if I know the language. That's how a friend of mine brought me to Jonas Jonasson's books, which I read in Swedish - Hundraåringen Som Klev Ut Genom Fönstret Och Försvann, and Analfabeten Som Kunde Räkna. But also Camilla Läckberg's books. These are currently my favorites.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have written a book. But I didn't manage yet to release it though.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can definitely teach you some basics of the Czech, English, German, Swedish or Spanish language.

I'd like to learn some basics of the language of yours, but I'm happy basicly with everything new that I learn.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!