Jan Beste's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • psychology graduate student
  • No education listed
  • From Alzenau, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling and exploring the Balkans (:

ABOUT ME

I'm 26 year-old, open-minded, curious about the world and a passionate vegetarian.

I am glad to meet and host travellers from all over the globe who have some interesting stories to tell about their journeys, experiences, passions and dreams (especially Brazilians, so I can practice my Portuguese).

PHILOSOPHY

"Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men who find it easier to live the world they've been given than to explore the power they have to change it. Impossible is not a fact. It's an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration. It's a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing."
-Muhammad Ali

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I am not travelling, I live and study in Münster, a lively and lovely student town located in North-Western Germany. I share a small flat with two other students right in the city centre. I enjoy pleasant company and helping people out with a warm and cosy place to stay.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfed in New Zealand, Malaysia, Brazil, Germany, Holland, France, Spain, Belgium and Luxembourg so far and hosted a couple of people myself. All of these people have contributed significantly to the fun I had on my travels. Thank you all, keep it going! :)

Interests

I'm interested in travelling, getting to know new people and their cultures. There's nothing better than having interesting, enriching conversations. I like being outside in nature, feeling the spirit of life. I'm a pretty active person who always needs enough motion. I enjoy climbing and working out a lot and like to play tennis. Also I'm a big music fan.

  • culture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • working out
  • traveling
  • music
  • rock climbing
  • tennis
  • teaching
  • languages
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

No matter what I do or where I go, I always need music as my constant companion. My taste differs from time to time and depends on my current mood, but I mostly enjoy listening to electronic music and indie rock.

my favorite movies:
Memento, The following, Donnie Darko, The Usual Suspects, Goodbye Lenin

my favorite books:
Nikos Kazantzaki's 'Alexis Sorbas', Klaus Mann's 'Mephisto, Thomas Brussig's 'Am kürzeren Ende der Sonnenallee'

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The probably most exciting and coining experience I had so far was travelling from Paris to Barcelona with a friend. Within two weeks we hitchhiked and couchsurfed our way down to Barcelona, covering 1050km without spending a cent on transportation or accomodation. We have meet wonderful people on our way down to Spain and had an amazing trip.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy cooking and baking healthy vegetarian food. I'm practicing playing the ukulele from time to time. I'd be happy to teach you the very basics of playing or learn from you how to optimize my playing tecniques.If you look for someone to teach you how to solve a Rubick's cube in less than 2:30 minutes, then I am the right teacher for you, too. I enjoy learning and teaching languages.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Costa Rica, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!