Jan Horvatt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Slovak
  • 71, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Retired carpenter
  • B.A. English
  • From Duquesne, PA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To meet interesting people and develop friendships.

ABOUT ME

I am a retired Union Carpenter. I live in the country and enjoy vegetable gardening and being outdoors. I also enjoy home improvement projects.
I bicycle, hike, play tennis and golf. I also occasionally fish. I like to read, cook and listen to music.
I enjoy travel and like to interact with natives and learn about local culture when I do travel.
I am interested in language and would like to travel and teach English. I have a sense of humor and enjoy laughing at the ironies that life provides rather than taking it too seriously.I enjoy conversing and listening to personal history and learning about new lifestyles.

PHILOSOPHY

I enjoy staying in the moment and letting life flow without a pre-arranged agenda. I hope to develop spontaneity as a personal quality since I believe it is the source of fun. And my objective in life is to have great fun. Would you like to join me?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to the site, so I have not participated. I plan to meet locals in my area to share experiences.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None to date: 10-15-09
In my past travels I have met people who were very kind and provided me with a place to stay and escorted me around their cities in Vienna and Milan.

Interests

Language, communication, music and the arts.

Yoga, self-understanding and becoming a better person.

  • fish
  • arts
  • culture
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • working out
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • golf
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Indochine, Before Night Falls, My Brother is an Only Child, My Life as a Dog.
Dave Matthews, Pink, Andre Bocelli, Bruce Springsteen:The Seeger Sessions, Luciano Pavarotti, Carla Bruni, Zucchero, Tom Rush.
Perfectly Legal, The Prize, Slow Food. Infinite Life.Classics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have had the experience of being in love, feeling love for another and realizing that love has many aspects and sometimes does not last forever.
Sometimes love felt does not mean love received. It is amazing to have feelings and without words see a response to one's internal feelings.I think this is the most amazing experience possible. Simple but true.

Teach, Learn, Share

Just about anyone has a story to tell of either taking the right path or maybe the wrong one that they wish they hadn't chosen which is a learning experience for both teller and listener.
Things don't always work out as planned and I enjoy listening to both sides of the spectrum.

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, Senegal, Slovakia, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!