Luna Lin

New York, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Luna’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • life time student, work to survive, and travel
  • Going to Barnard College
  • From Fuzhou then, New York City now
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me


teaching documentary filmmaking in Cape Town


I study and do my best to survive on my own, as well as engage and experience life. I'm going to college for theoretical physics but I decided that now is the time for me to discover more of myself through traveling, and meeting new people.
I love playing billiards and have met a lot of great players, who became friends. My plan for the new semester includes six things: studying, ukulele playing, watercolor painting, skateboarding, video shooting, and bartending.


Not knowing what is the ultimate purpose of life doesn't mean there isn't any.
Investing good will and love, will not necessary harvest the same, but I do it anyway.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I will be able to host one person at a time starting in September. My room is a single room in a dormitory, located on uptown and Central Park West. Safe and fast access to transit system and central park.


The first couch surfer I met is a dancer/improv artist/acrobat from Vancouver. With him and his host, I went dancing for the first time in my not-so-glorious corporeal coordination history. We talked about his life and his travels. He showed me a complete different lifestyle from that of a full time bookworm, like me, and evoked my curiosity to go out and explore.


I enjoy going to farmer's market and cooking for myself and friends, especially, when not according to the recipes. Most of the time I try my best to be a vegetarian, once in a while, I would make guacamole burgers on toasted croissants for a hungry crowd and occasional carnivore self.
Live performances, especially by independent musicians, in summer time (with various lagers) are my favorites, of course, I never say no to a good movie with friends, rain or shine. I tend to read a lot more during the winter, over a never-empty-cup of chai or coffee. Skating in Bryant Park is mellow, going on to sledding and throwing snow balls at one another in Central Park after a solid snow is becoming a luxury that I cherish.

Music, Movies, and Books

My music includes a lot of Jack Johnson, Gorillaz, Lester Young, Frank Zappa, Coldplay, Adam Cantor, and affectionately Alex Lopez.

Books that I read in this past year include Moby Dick, the Unknown Story of Mao, A Room of One's Own, and many others

Movies I enjoy watching over and again include The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Gone with the Wind, Home Alone, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Directed and edited my first documentary film, "Behind the Closed Doors." I did an undercover investigation with hidden camera in fake glasses in a sweatshop in Brooklyn, New York. Afterward I realized the risk of being beaten up was probably minimal, but at the time, I was deadly frightened, but did it anyway.

Teach, Learn, Share

I play ukulele and am getting better on it. I can bartend and basic mix drinks, which might come in handy sometimes.
I'd love to learn drumming, and skateboarding. Will probably starting learning them on my own, and can offer to teach once I become competent.

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Luna’s full profile. It’s free!