Logo orange

Martin Hierz

Graz, Styria, Austria

Maybe Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 23 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I am a rather healthy&fit straight white cis-male who happened to be born and grown up in one of the wealthiest countries in the world. So you can say I am sort of the definition of being privileged in this society which is dominated by earthlings just as my kind. I am deeply sorry for that. Not for who I am but for being part of and most definitely too many times taking advantage of this situation. I do my very best to question and look beyond my privileges and to support those who aren't blessed with such.

student (soon-to-be high school teacher for maths and geography), musician, vegan, environmentalist, 3rd wave feminist, supporter of lgbt-rights, tea addicted, tidy, reliable, deeply in love with being alive (and with my girlfriend :D)
I guess I'm quite mature for my age but I still do my best to maintain my inner child

PHILOSOPHY

Avoid causing pain to any being in any way and always see the positive aspects in people, things, happenings,...
I do my best to generally trust people (couchsurfing helps a lot there)
Enjoy yourself!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host and surf. Furthermore, I like to teach about DIY vegan food like hummus, soy yogurt and raw almond milk

Since I really enjoy hosting quite as much as surfing, do not hesitate to contact me if you need a couch. I'll do my best to get some spare time and space for you then. I regularly check my mails and CS-profile and try to answer as quickly as possible because I know how annoying it can be to wait a long time for someone to reply your request.

I am in a long distance relationship and my gf and I do our best to see each other on weekends so hosting is usually just possible on weekdays!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed and hosted several times and I loved it! I've met so many great and inspiring people through this community

Interests

Besides my obvious interest in maths, geography and teaching, I'm a real music freak. I prefer Jazz and Post Rock but also like kind of every other style of music as well (including electronic music, folk, singer/songwriter, some metal stuff, good old rock music etc.) I play guitar, bass, drums and the trumpet (but guitar is definitely my first instrument). I also share my instruments when staying with me and like to jam with other musicians.
Another thing that is quite important in my life are animal rights. I'm a vegan but reeeally not a radical one ;) I won't discriminate or even try to convince anyone who eats meat, as long as it is not in my flat.
I like to go out and have party as well as staying cozy at home having deep and meaningful talks. I usually prefere being sober but sometimes a bottle of good beer or a glass of wine can really catch my attention.
And of course I'm into organic farming, fair trade, nature conservation, healthy vegan cooking, vintage clothing, beard grooming, sustainability and hipster stuff like that ;)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The two times I saw Godspeed You! Black Emperor playing live, such an atmosphere...
Meeting my soulmate/SO

Teach, Learn, Share

DIY vegan food & cooking, making music, maths&geography. I can teach those things but I'm also quite eager to improve my skills there :) furthermore, I'm interested in getting to know different cultures and concepts of living

What I Can Share With Hosts

I'm a decent cook and I'm happy to prepare some (vegan) Austrian dishes for my hosts. Usually I bring typical Styrian treats as well :)

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Austria

Join Couchsurfing to see Martin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile