Logo orange

John McCarron

Charleston, SC, USA

Wants to Meet Up

80% response rate · Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 40 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning English
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • IT
  • A Lot
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To find amazing places to hang my hammock.

ABOUT ME

About me... I find this is the hardest section to fill out. Anyways I am a reserved person that loves to travel. I grew up moving around America and the world. I currently reside in Charleston, SC working in IT. I enjoy kayaking, hammocking, spending time on the beach and all the fun events that Charleston has to offer.

PHILOSOPHY

It will all be okay in the end; if it's not okay, it's not the end.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was really active hosting with my old roommate, James. He is a local ambassador and we are always hosting. The local Charleston community is getting more active. There is typically one planned meet up a month with many impromptu meetings.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

When I first heard of Couch Surfing I was hesitant. I thought it was weird and was out side of my comfort zone. Once I started meeting and hosting all my fears when quickly put aside. I absolutely love couch surfing and the community. I have not surfed yet but I have hosted quite a bit. The couch surfers that I have met after head and shoulders above the average person. The local meet ups are filled with people with amazing stories and tales of travel. I have never regretted participating in Couch Surfing.

Interests

#1 interest in my life is food. I would say that I am obsessed with food. I love cooking and trying new food but it hates me. We have a love/hate relationship. I have a gluten allergy (boo wheat!) so I have to be careful. I am willing to cook for any one that I host or when I am surfing. Charleston is a wonderful town to live in with its great restaurants and events. There is nothing better in life then sharing a meal and wine with your friends
Charleston has wonderful beaches and water activities. There are a few great local beaches that I go to all the time. I love getting out on the water in a kayak or a boat. I want to learn how to sail when it gets warmer.
Camping and hiking especially in the mountains. I like camping where there is no sand. The best times when it's slightly chilly and everyone is huddled around the fire at night.

Music, Movies & Books

I love to read and learn. I can spend hours on Wikipedia jumping from article to article. I typically read Sci fi or fantasy books.

Some of my favorite books and series are:

*Game of Throne Series- George R. R. Martin
*Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
*Daemon and Freedom™ by Daniel Suarez
*Malazan book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson
*Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

My music taste is all over the board. Rock, Classical, Irish Folk and Techno.

I love watching TV shows and movies.
*Snatch
*Lock Stock & Two Smoke Barrels
*Boardwalk Empire
*Game of Thrones
*Law and Order
*Master and Commander
*Gladitor
*Kingdom of Heaven
*Blade Runner
*Battlestar Glatatic (until the 3rd season)
*Lost
*Bond movies

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a history buff and love to show off Charleston.

I want to learn how to scuba dive, dance, sail and fly.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, China, Dominican Republic, France, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile