Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jean’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Japanese
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • English teacher
  • lots
  • From Melbourne
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


travel, explore, listen, read, write, wander and run


I'm an English teacher and frustrated writer/translator. I've been living in Spain since late 2012, mostly in smaller towns, and have just recently moved to the big smoke, Madrid.

I'm an optimist and daydreamer, who likes to be organised, and likes to let go. I'm an early bird and a night owl, who never suffers from jet lag, but does so love a siesta...

My passions/vices are nothing special, but special to me. Travel, meeting new people, reading, writing, coffee, red wine, and wandering the streets of unknown cities for hours...

For more about where I'm coming from and where I hope to be going, check out my blog:


"not all those who wander are lost"
- Tolkien

"con pan y vino se hace el camino"
- anonymous pilgrim

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I signed up to couch surfing a year or two ago, but really haven't yet made the effort to make the most of this amazing organisation.

Would love to meet more locals when I travel, and (when I know Madrid a bit better), share my knowledge and enthusiasm about this amazing city.


Reading. Music. Studying Spanish. Cooking. Writing. Running (in the mornings). Walking/wandering (in the afternoons). Going out and talking to people and being in the real world (from time to time).

  • writing
  • books
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • red wine
  • coffee
  • running
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • languages

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Camino de Santiago, Ruta del Norte - In July/August 2014 I walked 900km from Hondaribbia to Finisterre across the north coast of Spain. It was one of the toughest and most satisfying things I've ever done.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - English and Spanish. I'm a trained English teacher and love to help.

Learn - whatever you're willing to teach me!

Share - books! stories! recipes! travel tips!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Morocco, Peru, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jean’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups