Jeffery's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeffery’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Sign Language - American
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Para-educator
  • Double BA Degrees
  • From VA, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I'm a deaf guy working as a para-educator at a deaf school. I love the job because it enables me to be off for the summer to do all of my camping, biking, and other outdoor stuff I want. Currently going through a divorce though so I'm watching my finances, hence the reason I'm curious about couchsurfing.

I'm from a military family so I've moved around quite a bit. Primarily lived in Virginia southeast though. As for why I'm not hosting myself, I'm currently a roommate of a couple. They are expecting their baby to arrive very soon. So we are not exactly able to have guests, especially with the mother's mother visiting for a while.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have a goal of biking from coast to coast. However, I just can't see myself wasting $$$ on hotels when all I need is a spot to set up my small tent on the lawn and an occasional shower. I'm not really a penny pincher, I just don't like spending beyond my need or want without good reason.

Currently I'm working up toward 50 miles in one day and then 100 miles in one day. I'm currently living car free so I do not exactly have an easy way of getting back home after a long bike ride without staying over somewhere.

Interests

  • photography
  • technology
  • minimalism
  • homesteading
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • bike riding
  • bikes
  • bike
  • tiny houses
  • bicycle touring
  • wild camping
  • bike touring
  • new technologies
  • cycle touring
  • self-sufficiency
  • landscape photography

Music, Movies, and Books

Being deaf, I can't really listen to music that focuses on lyrics. I prefers music actually being music such as celtic, classical, and the like. As for movies, I generally lean toward superheros movies, sci-fi, post-apocalyptic, and the likes. I just do not care for horror (not easily scared, just bored of gratuitous gore and the like).

Books, I LOVE reading. I keeps my kindle on me as much as possible. I generally reads sci-fi and epic fantasy. I also likes fan-fictions of various stories like Harry Potter, Naruto, and the like.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I don't really have anything specific that I've done amazingly. I'm working toward this! :D

My dreams is to hike the Appalachian Trail, Bike from coast to coast (currently training for this), live in a tiny home or out of a van, etc...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Not sure. I'm deaf so the communication barrier can be a little interesting to work around sometimes. I can speak pretty well. It's just hearing and understanding speech that's an issue for me. Texting or instant messaging just works the best for me.

This is also the first time I'm checking out couch-surfing so I would be willing to hear any suggestions. Like buying some groceries for a shared meal? I wouldn't mind offering to help with stuff in general like mowing the lawn or whatever.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Italy, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeffery’s full profile. It’s free!