Jen & Mike Smith's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jen & Mike’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Event Manager / Science Communicator
  • BA Hons Art & Design degree, 1x advanced higher, 7x h...
  • From Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

I grew up in the countryside in Scotland and went on to study at art school. Since then I have worked in different jobs including community projects, learning disability and managing a 190 year old wooden warship called The Unicorn and most lately as Associate Director of the New Zealand International Science Festival!

My husband Mike worked in a science centre hosting school groups and working with teachers and community groups and getting everyone excited about learning. He's a Science Communicator at a museum here in New Zealand and studying to be a primary teacher next year.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My other half Mike and I travelled round Europe as much as we could from the UK. We got married on the beach in Scotland last year, quit our jobs, handed back the keys to our flat and decided to travel the world as an extended mega-honeymoon! We explored around Canada, the US and Fiji and have been living in NZ for the past year. Now we're on the next leg of our travels doing NZ>Australia>Southeast Asia>Europe.

We are hoping to explore as much of the world as we can on our limited budget and feel that the best way to get to know the local area is to meet the people who make it so interesting and learn from the best!

Interests

Mike and I love trying new things, visiting new places and meeting new people. We are big foodies and love entertaining and long evenings chatting with friends with good food and drink. I am creative and enjoy crafty projects and Mike plays the guitar (left handed!).

  • arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • science
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a great lover of travel books (especially the we-bought-a-little-ruin-in-Italy-in-the-sunshine kind) and am currently reading Bill Bryson's 'A Walk in the Woods'. Mike likes non-fiction and always has a science fact book or history book by the bed, as well as some thrillers on his Kindle.

We have varying tastes of music depending on if we are out, having a dinner party, at the gym etc - but love a bit of blues/funk/60s and try and see some acoustic live music when we can (I am developing a love of live folk!) and Mike has recently been to see Metallica, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Govt Mule and Down - so he has a slightly heavier taste in music than me...!

We love a good comedy and Mike can always be found quoting from the greats like Anchorman and Naked Gun. We also enjoy a few alternatives that we try to go and see at our local arthouse cinema - my most recent was Kon Tiki - amazing. Always up for trying something new (but I am a bit pathetic when it comes to horrors...).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not long after Mike and I had met, we decided to use our student loans to travel the world in our Christmas holidays. We inter-railed through Europe, getting horse and cart rides through the Bavarian alps where it was so cold icicles formed on Mike's moustache, we had Christmas in Paris, New Years in Nice, gambled in Monaco, and made amazing new friends and memories we will never forget.

Teach, Learn, Share

One of my favourite jobs was with a group called Skill Share. We worked really hard and built this amazing community and developed it in to a charity, which is now self-sustaining and thriving. We taught bike repair, how to cook, sew, weld, grow veg... everything! We are always keen to learn new skills and share ours with others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We would love to help cook and if there are any instruments around you can be sure they will be played! We'd love to share some adventures with you exploring new and old places.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Scotland, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, New Zealand, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Jen & Mike’s full profile. It’s free!