Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jenner’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 227 References 177 Confirmed & Positive
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Polish, Serbo-Croatian, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Wandering Soul
  • BA - Interdisciplinary Studies
  • From New York City Born, Houston Raised
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I JUST MOVED TO LONDON!!!! I will change my profile once I get an apartment :D

Current Mission:

Adapt to life in London.

An old short-documentary made by some of my Couchsurfers!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IF8AS8AMTno&feature=player_embedded

I am a terribly charismatic perfectionist, self-proclaimed philanthropist, and an existential enthusiast, with empirical introverted analytical tendencies.

I'm the most indecisive person you'll meet, and also have this ability to take the lead. I've been told I give the BEST hugs. By nature, I'd say human contact is one of the best gifts any human can receive; without it, I'd be a train wreck. I'm a walking contradiction. Most arguments I make are usually rebutted by a completely opposite, yet, just as valid, truth.

I'm that weird guy that's able to remember the most arbitrary things in a conversation. I'm now a veggie monster that eats meat. The joys of environmentalism pretty much dominate my life--€”organic food, biodegradable soap, compostable/recyclable materials, etc.

Currently, I'm a 25-year-old Funemploymed traveler.

I spent most of my childhood in suburbs of Western Houston, Texas. Originally, I am from New York City.

I grew up with a city mentality. I enjoy living in the city a lot more than rural areas.

I moved to San Francisco in 2010, living there for a total of five years after my one year living in France.

Currently, I would LIKE to believe my goals have extended beyond school, but it seems to keep weaving its way back into my life. I am just graduated from undergrad in San Francisco. And I plan to attend SOAS University in London this coming Fall.

Previous education includes studies abroad at La Sorbonne in Paris, The City College of San Francisco, and SCAD The University for Creative Careers, in Savannah.

I have studied Sound Design, Art History, Fine Art, Game Design and Film, Women Studies, Gender Studies, Sociology, LGBT Studies, Psychology, and Anthropology.

In my professional life, I currently am not working. My previous work is in the Non-Profit sector supporting LGBT youth. Sometimes I work as a gardening assistant. I love being and working in nature. Combined with a bit of EDU, I'm reading up on the science of plants so I can better understand them. Plant design to installation work.

My current Goal(s): Find New community, Practice both my Spanish & French

Most recent goal(s) achieved: Travel Further East than Europe

My ongoing goal: As an aspiring artist and activist I want to create my own network of connections to help the world reach an all-inclusive, ever-accepting community. With this goal in mind, I have incorporated as much of CouchSurfing into my life as I can, hoping to bring out the best in others as I find the best in myself.

Life. In every crevice is a new branch of understanding and joy. Time allows for endless possibilities. We continue to breathe with glimmers of hope for a better world, and as we grow, we get closer to paradise.

Give yourself credit for the accomplishments you have made, for the challenges you have overcome, for the rough times you have made it through!

It's the little things that often matter most.
People are innately good.

TO BE CONTINUED...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been a member of CouchSurfing for six years. I started hosting couch surfers the summer of 2010, in Savannah, GA. I continued most of my hosting in San Francisco, and I hosted for a year in Paris.

*~*HOW I EVALUATE REQUESTS FROM SURFERS*~*:

1. Substance of request
2. Profile information
3. Order of requests
4. Number of people

Below is the survey I usually ask couch surfers to fill out before their stay with me. Please fill this out if you wish to be considered for staying on my couch.*

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
SURVEY

Why couch surfing? (AKA, why not a hotel? hostel?)

Why my couch?

What would you expect out of me as a host?

What does "good host" mean to you?

What does "good guest" mean to you?

What kind of traveler are you? i.e. tourist, nomad, etc.

Feel free to add any additional information you'd like. :) The more info, the better (preferably not information I have read in your profile already)!

Questions for me? Ask away. :)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Why is this important? My view of CouchSurfing involves us all having an equal opportunity to travel, be hosted, and have our own personal and unique experience with our host. In order for this to stand true, some values of the site must be upheld. These including:
1. This website not be used as a hotel service. Couch Surfing is a good way to budget travel, but not a place to find a storage closet for a couple of days. Make known why traveling via CouchSurfing is important to you, and what you hope to gain out of it.
2. A host and guest must meet each other half way. Although, a host may be in their comfort zone, they too must adapt to a stranger in their home. Being different than each other is inevitable, being open-minded is not. Stay true to yourself, and be creative—expect endless possibilities, not a perfect experiences.
3. Respect the website. CouchSurfing is a place to build connections with those you may not otherwise meet. Allow for there to be room for both your traveling needs and your host's. Write a reference!

NOTE: YOUR REFERENCE IS IMPORTANT TO ME! I encourage every surfer who stays with me to write a reference as soon as you can. Good, bad, neutral - these references are not only for me, they are for future surfers who are trying to make their search easier. Please, help the couch surfing community by providing a story of your experience every time!

Please rate responsibly. ;)

----

I appreciate all references, and I cherish your opinions. Learning from my surfers' experiences will help me grow as a person.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first experience couch surfing was in June 2010. I went on a cross-country adventure to the West Coast of the U.S. with my friend and our wonderful puppy dogs (4 of them) from the East Coast - Savannah, GA! We traveled via car the entire way via car, and stayed with multiple hosts along the way!

Thereafter, I have hosted a multitude of traveling souls from all over the world in both San Francisco and Paris.

Interests

My biggest interest is getting to know new people! I love experiencing life with new individuals and getting a chance to learn about people's backgrounds and aspiring goals. Being able to connect with someone through conversation is probably the best thing in the world!

I write pros about my life experiences, and poetry. Words are phenomenal.

I love to sing and dance! Music is definitely an unmatched joy in my life! I cherish my ability to express my feelings through movement and sound, and I plan to continue giving to the atmosphere for many years to come!

  • dogs
  • arts
  • culture
  • poetry
  • singing
  • design
  • documentaries
  • dancing
  • education
  • dining
  • organic food
  • walking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • surfing
  • anthropology
  • art history
  • teaching
  • gender studies
  • history
  • psychology
  • science
  • sociology
  • budget travel

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC: CHRISTINE AND THE QUEENS, SZA, OF MONSTERS AND MEN, QUADRON, TEGAN AND SARA, IMOGEN HEAP, THE POSTAL SERVICE, ANGELS AND AIRWAVES, MGMT, MIA, STROMAE, ALUNAGEORGE, RHIANNA, SAM SMITH, THE DRUMS, LAURYN HILL, BRANDY, TONI BRAXTON (FROM THE 90S), SHAMIR, ROBYN, PHOENIX, WILL YOUNG, DEATH CAB, AMY WINEHOUSE

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

To name just one amazing thing would be a betrayal to all the other wonderful things I have seen in my life!

Euro/Mid-East Trip 2015/2016 > NORWAY, GERMANY, FRANCE, SWITZERLAND, ISRAEL, CYPRUS, GREECE, TURKEY, HUNGARY, AUSTRIA, GERMANY, CZECH REPUBLIC

Euro Trip 2013 > SCOTLAND, IRELAND, ENGLAND, GERMANY, FRANCE, SPAIN, ITALY, GERMANY AGAIN, POLAND

I've traveled cross the United States from EAST to WEST and WEST to EAST quite a few times now. I'd say, that's pretty amazing.
I've also driven NORTHBOUND to SOUTHBOUND and vice-versa via the East Coast and West Coast of the Unites States a few times, as well. Quite quite quite amazing!

In 2012, I had the opportunity to travel to Cuba. Immersion in this culture has placed a new road ahead of me. I have decided to find my roots and move towards learning more of my own culture. My goal is to speak Spanish fluently.

CouchSurfing will forever remain the MOST amazing thing I've done. There has been no greater gift than to learn and experience the life and culture of multiple people from around the world.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach from your personal experience. Learn from differences. Be open-minded.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bahamas, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Puerto Rico, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    15 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jenner’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups