Logo orange

jennifer's Groups

jennifer Seid

Fairfax, California, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see jennifer's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 51, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • knock off the daily "to do" list and...
  • Through experiences generally
  • From Marin County and San Francisco, California, United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

objective-to meet people from other places and to broaden our own travel experiences when the time comes.

ABOUT ME

I'm pretty enthusiastic about where I am, and I love showing people around this beautiful place that I'm so lucky to live in. When I get the chance to host friends that visit from out of town, I go out of my way to show them a great time,so my being a great hostess is a comment that friends have made that I was very pleased to hear. I also like to hang out at home and do nothing, so during the week it can be hard to make plans with me...I'm either totally busy running around, or I'm exhausted and refuse to budge! I live with my 15 year old daughter, and my two dogs. My friends would say how much I love my daughter, (and my dogs), that I'm fairly smart, liberal, curious about new experiences, and new people.

PHILOSOPHY

Live in the moment-I don't plan too rigidly into the future, because it likely won't turn out the way I planned anyway. Even my garden turns out how it wants to, despite my best laid plans.
I try to worry about things less than I used to. You learn as you go along.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I joined very recently and hosted almost immediately. It was a wonderful experience. We had a great time touring the City, trying new things together, sharing meals, serious discussions, not so serious discussions, laughing and talking until late into the night. I was so sorry to bid them farewell...but I was excited for them to continue their adventure. Sometime soon I'll be on the other side of the experience, and I hope that it's just as much fun as hosting certainly can be.

Interests

I've always been interested in being outdoors. We have lots of beautiful outdoor space here, and my father took me hiking every weekend from the time I was young, so I've grown up loving to be on the trails here. My daughter doesn't get too excited about hiking, though, so we spend family time by getting in the convertible, putting the top down, and driving the beautiful coastline and looking for new places to discover. We also go to a lot of plays (too many, my daughter might say), and going into San Francisco, which is across the Golden Gate Bridge from our community, and acting like tourists, which is FUN! I like to garden, especially dahlias, which I'm addicted to. I used to do a lot of cooking, but I'm pretty lazy about cleaning up afterward, so we eat out more often than we should. The local produce here is amazing, so dinner might be some fresh baked bread, delicious local cheese, and local honey with some fruit. Anything simple to avoid cleaning lots of pots and pans!
I love to travel, and we just took a quickie trip-10 days-to London just because I wanted my daughter to experience it at the age that I first did, too. I'm planning at least three trips right now, Kauai, Hawaii; Palau; and possibly Sydney, Australia, to revisit where I used to live as a child. When my daughter moves out for university, I dream of packing up the house and hitting the road for an extended time. I just have to figure out the best thing to do with my dogs...

Music, Movies & Books

There are eclectic intrests in music in this house, anything from old punk and rock n' roll to old jazz to current pop and alternative, or even bluegrass-bring something new to share. Music is a big part of life here.
I love to read both fiction and non fiction.
Love to stay on the couch in the evening and watch a movie or HBO.
I enjoy all kinds of movies with the exception of a lot of "popular" movies, which leave me scratching my head and wondering why they're popular.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I love Yosemite National Park, and I'd say that each time I go, I'm amazed by the sight of Half Dome, which has to be seen to be believed. I took a friend from another part of the country there (I've taken a few) who just stood slack-jawed at the sight of the falls and Half Dome, and that thrilled me as much as anything.
Walking alongside Hadrien's Wall was pretty thought provoking, as was the sight of the misty mountain tops of the Lake Country in Northern England, viewed from the cow patty filled field I had been camping in. I would really like to return.
Staring out at the endless green from the top of the Rock of Cashel was stunning-I returned there each and every day I could while there.
One of the best experiences was just driving the Redwood tree lined roads of my county. I felt so lucky, and so overcome by the beauty, it made me a bit weepy...

Teach, Learn, Share

French speaking people-we welcome your help with our knowledge of French!!

Countries I've Visited

American Samoa, Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, Fiji, Guam, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Palau, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Guam, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see jennifer's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile