Jeremy Mount

New York, NY, United States

Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • work to live
  • psychology
  • From New York, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I only have space for 1 guest at a time, sorry no exceptions.



opening a hostel in NYC


I recently came back to NYC after a 2-year trip from New York to Rio de Janeiro by land. I grew up in the suburbs of New York on Long Island.

I like to hang out more with people from all over the world because I would prefer to learn about different ways of life than just the same old thing every day. Manhattan has a very competitive, work-driven culture, but I would rather spend the day at a beer garden with friends and party.

* Also, I am always looking for someone who would like to help me practice my Spanish or Portuguese in exchange for English lessons*

I can definitely show you around NYC, although I will be honest and say that I have seen a lot of the sights already and prefer to spend my free time hanging out with friends and going out to bars/house parties/clubs/music venues/etc (there are so many fun options you will never get bored!). You're welcome to explore on your own if there are some places you really want to see, we don't have to spend every minute together. But at the same time, it doesn't feel nice just being used for a place to crash and keep your luggage.


When facing a difficult decision, carefully weigh all your options, then pick the one that will lead to the best story 5 years down the road

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


There are CS events and parties every day in NYC and I've met a lot of close friends in the CS community here. One CS friend has big dinner parties in his apartment a few blocks from where I live every few weeks, so maybe you'll be here when he has his next one.


Surfed couches all over North and South America, and all over Europe. Hosted lots of people in Philadelphia, San Diego, and now here in NYC.


music festivals, theme/costume parties, wavesurfing, dogs, billiards, nature, roaming around new cities, jumping from really high places into water

Music, Movies, and Books

I love finding out about new music so hopefully you can share some of your favorites with me. I used to listen to mostly classic rock, but now I listen to mostly electronic music.

tech/deep/progressive house, Carl Cox, Jamie Jones, Lee Foss, Richie Hawtin, Kaskade, Ghostland Observatory, Ratatat, Tame Impala, Dizzee Rascal, Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Eric Clapton, Sublime, The Band, Neil Young, Johnny Cash, Led Zeppelin, Elvis, Queen, The Clash, Thin Lizzy, Billy Joel, blues, bluegrass

Stranger In A Strange Land, Old Man and the Sea, Siddhartha, Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test, The Alchemist, Doors of Perception

Tarantino films, Easy Rider, Swingers, Wet Hot American Summer, Apocalypse Now, sci-fi films, Point Break, The Life Aquatic, Grizzly Man and other Herzog films, all sorts of documentaries, This is Spinal Tap, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, The Hot Chick

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Burning Man in Utah (USA), visionquest in Real de Catorce (Mexico), Carnaval in Ri­o de Janeiro (Brasil), Full Moon Party in Koh Phangan (Thailand), Semana Santa in Maruata (Mexico), Oktoberfest in Munich (Germany), Ibiza (Spain), Elysium in San Diego, California (USA), Woodford Folk Festival near Brisbane (Australia), Kazantip in Crimea (Ukraine),

Teach, Learn, Share

I also know a number of excellent drinking games

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually choose to stay in hotels these days when I travel (I need my sleep!) but I often use CS to meet people to hang out with when I visit a new city.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Faroe Islands, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Colombia, Poland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups