Logo orange

Jeremy Dutka

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Ukrainian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Engineer with Toronto Hydro
  • Mechanical Engineer - McMaster Unive...
  • From Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live life, in the between. Doing everything I can, smiling and laughing every chance I get.

ABOUT ME

Hi.  I'm Jeremy.I'm a mechanical engineer stuck in an electrical engineer's world.Smiling is one of my top four favourite things in the world.  Rounding out the other three are laughing, swingsets and slurpees.  Although that last one swaps places with 'adventures' on a fairly consistent basis.I'm friendly and quirky.  Most other things I could say about myself are fairly subject.  Point and case - My Mom says that I'm really cute and am a great singer.  I'm really not sure how to take either of those, especially since I know my parent's cat doesn't stick around to long when my vocal melodies ensue.  I do like to think that I'm somewhat interesting, a decent conversationalist and fairly easy going.  I try not to let things phase me, because really, things always seem to work out in the end.  If the path from Point A to Point B doesn't work out, it's adventure finding Point R during the process.My life is a series of adventures, or mis-adventures, it's all a matter of perspective really.  Either way, it keeps things exciting.

PHILOSOPHY

One day you're born - and that is a good daySomeday you'll die - and that is a shameBut somewhere in the between - is a life in which we all dreamand nothingand no onecan ever take that away. I can't take credit for that, as it's a line from a song I like.  But it fits well for where I'm at in life.  I'm working on living my life in the between, and reaching that life in which we I dream.  Even more than that, I'm still working on my dreams for things to do.  The world is open, dreams can not be too big.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a little place where someone can sleep, or I'm always up for an adventure exploring the wonderful City of Toronto, or some other destination across this incredible world we live in.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I don't really have any couch surfing experiences as of yet, but soon my friends, soon, we shall.

Interests

My interests are an eclectic mix of activities that sometimes relate to each other, but often just peaked my interest.  The easiest way to describe it that my main hobby is hobbies.  I love trying near things, and have a desire to learn things.  I also want to learn everything, so the desire to perfect one skill set is not a compelling desire within my current life situation.  Here few recent examples of my current, or recent interests.Culinary exploration - I love cooking, and have for some time.  So I decided to take a few courses at the local college.  I recently discovered there is an incredible rock climbing gym near my house, so I have moved the official culinary programing to the side to make room for climbing adventures.  In my free time I still enjoying cooking, and have developed an odd love for chopping things.A few years back I bought a motorcycle.  The first part of that hobby was simply to take it everywhere.  That grew into care and simple work on the bike.  It peaked last spring when I took the carbs out of the bike to have them cleaned.  It was amazing putting everything back together, turning the key and hearing the engine turn over.  Apparently everything fit back together properly, and I didn't even have any extra parts!  I'm not sure who was more surprised, me or the bike.I also enjoy being outdoors, reading, talking, movies, writing, trying to fix things, dreaming, pretending I play guitar, sports, meeting new people and learning.

Music, Movies & Books

Some of my favourite movies and books are the Jason Bourne series.  Other movies I enjoy are Dumb and Dumber, Tommy Boy, The Italian Job and Elf.The books I've been reading recently have mostly been spy type fiction.  I try and balance those out with books on starting businesses, design, and people's thoughts on life.Music I'm pretty open to anything.  Some of current favourite bands include Owl City, Streetlight Manifesto, To Tell, Angels and Airwaves and whatever is on the radio, which is usually top 40 whilst a work.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I'm really happy with the fact that I played in a hockey league last year, and continue it this year.  In the winter of 2010 I took a new job and saw they had a hockey league.  I didn't know how to play hockey.  I didn't even know how to skate.  Wait, correction.  I could skate fine, so long as it was in straight lines, or turning left.  It was the stopping that killed me.  Undaunted, I headed down to the local rink and took 20 weeks of skating lessons, 8 weeks of hockey school and figured I was good to go.  It's been non-stop excitment ever since.  I even scored a goal a few games into the first season!  (Given... it was a shot from the blue line that bounced off my butt, but hey, use what you've got right?)There is more to explore and try, but this has been one amazing thing that I've done recently. 

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, I'm a decent cook, and I have a really cool way to cut onions and peppers.  Not at the same time though.  That just sounds awkward.  I love teaching, so what I know I'll share.  There also always seem to be random tidbits of information stuck in me that come up as I walk around and do things.  Mostly because I love to learn, so anytime someone is willing to tell or teach me something new, I'm all ears.  Unless it's something that needs to be tried out, then I'm all hands.  It just works better with the tactile situations.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Russian Federation, Ukraine, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Korea, Republic of

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile