Logo orange

Erik Olofsson

Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 24 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Erik's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 85 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning German
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Uni, travelling & having fun
  • Uni
  • From Jönköping, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I want to see the corners of the world, unless a Killer-Panda finds me first...

I left a well paid and good job to peruse a different career and by that going back to uni to get a Master's degree, here Zürich.

I'm in fight not to grow "old" and take life serious. I don't know who my opponent is, but I'll beat that bastard! Otherwise I'm friendly and a bit crazy according to some, trying to be positive and see the best in everything, most likely with a smile on my face.

I'm usually a calm and relaxed person, but I love surprises (both giving and receiving). I'm usually up for joining people if they have a (crazy) idea.

Fine Russian vodka is the drink of choice for me and spending time in a sauna can't be underestimated. Probably you shouldn't combine those things, you should drink Finnish or North Swedish beer in the sauna.

Please be aware of that I suffer from face blindness and I am therefore notorious for not recognizing people. I will most likely not recognize you unless you look exactly as your photo. It's not because I'm afraid of you...

And don't try to make anything perfect, you'll end up spending to much time/energy/money/etc. Do it good or acceptable and, in the end, everything will be perfect.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

I'm a regular at the Weekly Zürich Meeting on Wednesday and I arrange and attend other meetings and activities as well. I host people when I can and receive a non-generic couchrequest.

Interests

Meeting people, learn from them and get inspired by them. Find fun things to do with people, could be parties, walking, excursion and pretty much anything.Personal interests are the history of countries, cities, buildings and their architecture, culture and people, and the stories that poeple tell. I'm not a big sports fan, but I try to follow skiing in winter, and ice-hockey of course. I try to go alpine skiing myself in winter and enjoy the nature in the warmer months. As I'm an avid traveller, I try to do that quite frequently. If I can't travel, I make travel plans or dream about travelling and the life as a traveller.

Music, Movies & Books

I enjoy music, whenever I'm home the stereo or Spotify is on, most likely playing some kind of Pop/Rock.

I do enjoy reading about other people's travels and adventures. The Diceman is a very inspiring book.

How I Met Your Mother and Futurama are my favourite TV-shows, but I've watch TV nowadays. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is a great and beautiful film. I tend to prefer fun and bizarre films and TV-shows.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I can't limit myself to one thing, here is a couple: - Attending the music festival Aldrei Fór Ég Suður in a small town on Iceland in the middle of a snowstorm. - Seen a (former) royal celebrity in Sikkim, India, with young pupils.- Been stuck on the Baltic sea for 26 hours on a ferry. - Talked to the local English teacher in a village in the Wakhan Valley, Tajikistan. - Rode the Stockholm and Copenhagen Metro without any trousers in the middle of the winter (No Pants Stockholm). - Planed and travelled on the Trans-Siberian/-Mongolian Railroad with 6 persons I didn't know before the start of the trip, and had loads of fun! - Been alone, with friends, on the Great Wall of China.

Teach, Learn, Share

If someone could explain the rules and charm of cricket over a beer or two I would be happy. I can teach you about Sweden, Swedes, how to act like a Swede and Swedish traditions (e.g. Midsummer) with some irony and humour. I can also help you if you want to learn (some) Swedish. I've done rather lot of travelling abroad and I will probably share it with you if you just say something about travelling.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Mongolia, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Erik's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile