Jeroen Poelmans's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeroen’s full profile.


  • 10 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Swahili
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Journalist
  • BA Journalism, MA African Studies
  • From Leuven, Flemish Brabant, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a friendly, easy-going Belgian guy who tries to make most out of life. I love exploring new places, meeting new people, pushing my boundaries, and learning new skills. I'm always looking for new ways to challenge myself and step out of my comfort zone. But that is enough of the boring, typical traveller talk.

Who am I really? I'm an active person who enjoys being outdoors, who loves practicing sports (and wants to try more extreme ones), who has a fondness for nature and a strong interest in other cultures, religions and languages. You'll often find me hiking or biking about in the woods, fascinated by the harmony of nature, or sitting somewhere near the sea, pondering the mysteries of the ocean. Or you'll find me at the bar, chattering about everything and nothing with some random stranger.

However, I'm also a very curious mind, always learning and exploring. I'm the traveller that will ditch his one clean shirt to be able to bring an extra book. Some Thoreau maybe. Or Miguel de Servantes. Or any type of reading at all. I'm also the traveller that will be all ears when somebody else breaks a story. There is nothing more interesting and inspiring as a person talking about his/her experiences, dreams, joys, pains, and desires.

My social media accounts:

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm here because I believe in the goodwill of the people, in helping one another, in sharing happiness. I'm here because I believe travelling is the most fun when you're with others, sharing experiences and making new memories.


Did I say I like music?

  • culture
  • photography
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • urban exploration
  • food
  • friends
  • hanging out
  • foreign languages
  • foreign cultures
  • ethnic food
  • hiphop

Music, Movies, and Books

Too much to sum up. Musicians like Miles Davis, Flume, No Vacation, and Bob Marley have my heart, but I'm always on the lookout for new discoveries. As for movies, I can always enjoy some old school horror (Scream! A Nightmare on Elm Street! Halloween!). A recently discovered gem was Adrift,

Skipping books because I like too many.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went to Iceland to attend a festival as a music journalist. That was a blast!

Teach, Learn, Share

Open to everything.

What I Can Share with Hosts

The classics: interesting travel stories, solid cooking, language skills. I can also teach you some digital marketing, writing, photography, and videography. Other things I can offer: a listening ear, a helping hand for everyday and not-so-everyday tasks, enthusiasm to learn new things.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, England, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Germany, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeroen’s full profile.