Jerry Abrams's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerry’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 77, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Retired IT person
  • College degree in physics. Technical job.
  • From USA west coast
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Return to live in San Francisco some day.

ABOUT ME

For the first part of 2012, I will be in Bangkok with my life partner, since the U.S. will not let him join me in San Francisco. We are researching where to spend some time until the U.S. wakes up and treats its gay citizens with equality regarding immigration. It looks as if we might go to Ecuador for a while, but we're also researching Mexico.

PHILOSOPHY

I feel I have always been very lucky in life, but I know it helps to be aware of what's going on around me and thinking carefully about my choices. And, think of how much better off all of us would be if everyone were kind to one another and were not greedy!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was surprised to find out CouchSurfing is based in my "hometown" of San Francisco! Well, not too surprised. I'm happy to support them, since the many reviews here seem to show it's a great organization providing a good service.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm new so I haven't couchsurfed anywhere yet. But, I think it will be a great way to make friends around the world. I can't host anyone, but have time to be a bit of a tour guide or give advice about visiting Cape Town. (CouchSurfing says all of us in Cape Town are in the "Schotschekloof", a small area of Cape Town.)

Interests

Home cooking, dining out, wine, reading, computers, playing the piano, casual hiking, volunteering for performing arts groups.

  • arts
  • performing arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • reading
  • piano
  • hiking
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Josh Lanyon is my favorite author. Also Armistead Maupin, Charlie Cochrane. I love to read ebooks on my Kindle or iPad. I enjoy live symphony orchestra and stage musicals.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saw the Great Barrier Reef off Australia. Amazing!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, France, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Pakistan, Spain, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jerry’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups