Jessica Thurber's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Czech, French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Writer
  • Full Sail University
  • From California and Nevada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have a love of adventure and travel, but didn't get the chance to travel much outside of California growing up. I'm making up for it now and I want to see everything the world has to offer me! I originally studied Psychology, because I'm fascinated by the human mind, but I realized that wasn't my true passion. Now I am finishing up my bachelor's in Creative Writing and plan to enter a master's program in Screenwriting abroad next year. I plan to write novels, short stories, and independent films. I feel like meeting new people from different parts of the world enriches me both as a person and a writer.

I worked as a Barista for years and have also been running my own dog walking and pet sitting business for 6 years now. I love animals and I am lucky enough to get paid to have fun with them! Coffee is an addiction and a passion for me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people, learning about different cultures, and other people's interests. I think Couchsurfing gives you a unique opportunity to engage with locals and learn about their city from an inside perspective.

Interests

I love reading, film, and writing. I enjoy mystery, fantasy, science fiction, magical realism, and drama with some comedic moments sprinkled in. Straight comedy doesn't always hold my attention, but there are occasional gems that I enjoy.

I'm also passionate about cooking and love to try new dishes. I love Indian, Thai, Mexican, and Mediterranean food, and I'm always happy to learn how to cook new dishes. I LOVE spicy food!

I enjoy getting out in nature and staying active. I love going for a hike or a swim.

I can't get enough of geeking out on history and I find it really inspires me. In another life I would have been a historian or perhaps an astrophysicist. :)

I love listening to music. My favorites are jazz, especially the older stuff, rock, hip-hop, and blues, but I'm open to anything that has good instrumentals and strong lyrics. I'm the kind of person who will always stop to listen to a great musician play. I have to have music playing when I'm writing, it gets my mind wandering.

I love art of all types. I've always envied those who can paint and draw.

I'm also passionate about exploring my roots and piecing together my family history. I think we all learn something surprising when we start digging into our genetics.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • street art
  • film festivals
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • animal care
  • music
  • hiking
  • genealogy
  • history
  • travel
  • film
  • spicy food
  • screenwriting
  • creative writing

Music, Movies, and Books

Picking favorites has always been hard for me!

One of my favorite movies is Wristcutters: A Love Story, but there are many more I could add to that list. I like films that take an honest approach at life and aren't afraid to get dark, but have funny moments. After studying some film in Prague I grew to really appreciate Czech and Slovak films, especially Dušan Hanák’s Rosy Dreams.

Some of my favorite musicians are Billie Holiday, Etta James, Bob Marley, Tom Waits, Nina Simone, and Django Reinhardt, but that's just touching the surface.

As far as books go I have currently been enjoying China Mielville's books. I also love George R. R. Martin, Neil Gaiman, Milan Kundera (even though he can be a misogynist ;)), H.P. Lovecraft, Voltaire, J.K. Rowling... and I'm eager to consume the work of more great authors.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm eager to learn everything I can about other cultures and customs!

I can teach you the basics of writing a script and help you practice your English skills.

I'd love to learn how to cook new dishes. I'm also interesting in learning other languages. Currently, I'm trying to relearn French, which I studied in school and a beginner in the Czech language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to cook and I'm happy to make food for you :) I can share my language, stories, and fun conversation.

I'm not able to share my place at this moment, but I would love to host in the future!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!