Logo orange

Jessica Ammerlaan

Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Swahili
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Psychiatric Nurse
  • Nursing
  • From Delft
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To get to know myself a bit more

ABOUT ME

I work full time as a psychiatric nurse, in a closed setting. I am very interested in anything healthcare related, and subjects surrounding it: culture, psychology etc.

I love travel, Apart from holidays in various countries, I have lived in the USA (Minnesota) for year of highschool exchange and I went to Kenya for 3 months of nursing internship (OK and some safari time..).
I met very wonderful people in both travels, and I got a better understanding of life, cliche as that may sound.

I'd say i'm a positive person, I like to do spontanious things, and I like to meet different people and learn about pretty much everything.
My interest vary greatly and I find new interesting things daily. I like things from politics and global issues to dancing and trying diffrent beers.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm fairly new on couchsurfing, my friend Blaine who stayed with me last summer for a few days told me about it. It sounds to me like a great chance to meet interesting people and travel in the best possible way, right into the homes of people who live there.

Interests

I like hanging out, talking and I like dancing. I dance rock n roll (4 step style), balfolk and zouk. Starting lindy hop soon.. I try salsa once in a while ;) I enjoy good movies and books, creative things.
Lately i'm discovering how much I like good food, I'm teaching myself to cook (vegetarian) food from different cultures, I'm trying indian food now.

I'm a member of a open youth society in Delft, where I regularly go in evenings to hang out, drink beer or tea and go to a party in the weekend. I organise stuff there aswell, (Rock n Roll) parties or debates on various subjects.

Music, Movies & Books

Lately I have been reading some political books on Africa, such as 'Dinner with Mugabe' and 'Africa, the shackled continent'. But fiction is also good, I like interesting books, ones that make you think about life or ethics. Same with movies, although I can enjoy almost all movies.
As for music, I like almost all music, it depends on the setting. When living in Kenya I started really liking reggea music because they play it so loudly in the busses. Because I like dancing zouk, I also started liking the music. At home I listen too all kinds of things such as Leonard Cohen, Fleetfoxes, Regina Spektor, Anouk, Fleetwoodmac, Crosby Stills Nash and Young, Temple of the dog, Janis Joplin.. etcetc I have a special place for Queen and Idan Rachel, the second is a great mixure of music from diffrent cultures, I always feel like i'm dragged into the songs.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have spend a year in Minnesota (USA) for an highschool exchange program. Stayed with a great host family. Learned a lot about life, people, culture, and ended up seeing the world from a broader perspective, loved it!

What I Can Share With Hosts

Some nice vegatrian/dutch dishes :)

Countries I've Visited

Croatia, Italy, Poland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Kenya, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile