Francis Hogston's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 13 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Francis’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hebrew (modern), Malagasy
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Communications and Project Assistant
  • University of South Florida and Université Paris 7, Diderot
  • From Saint Petersburg, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

To finish my third year of Peace Corps at Ny Tanintsika, a local Malagasy NGO, who works in different areas of development; economic, social and environmental. Projects are carried out in rural areas where the majority of the Malagasy population lives. My primary project is to increase the teams' ability to work using the English language. I aid my Malagasy colleagues in writing project reports, grants, and announcements in English, while also providing informal and formal English language lessons. My objective is to improve the teams' English capabilities so they can sustain their crucial development work autonomously.

I am the universe experiencing itself and I long to see more of this earth. I take everyday as a learning experience and hope it never stops. I have a double bachelors degree in Anthropology and French from the University of South Florida. I joined the Peace Corps and taught English as a foreign language in the village of Mahasoabe, Madagascar for two years but now I am a third year volunteer working for a local NGO.


"we limit ourselves to a course of self-definition, when the potential of our being is instead limitless" -Hermann Hesse

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new people and couchsurf during travels


What makes my life engaging is the friends and people that I meet in the world. An interesting personality catches my eye from far away. I like to think each human is special and I cherish individuality.

  • culture
  • photography
  • education
  • walking
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • anthropology
  • teaching
  • languages
  • study abroad
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: 1984, The God Delusion, The Imperial Animal, The Steppenwolf, Siddartha, A Land Remebered, Harry Potter, The Greatest Miracle on Earth "Evolution", The Pali Canon, A Lesson Before Dying, Nietzsche and anything else that provides a beautiful perspective.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I decided to study abroad and move to Paris, France for a year and that was an incredible experience. At the time I had never been so far from home and I was never that independent in my life. I grew a lot as an individual living in Paris, while also learning the language and culture of France. I was also able to do a bit of traveling over there. I visited cities such as Barcelona, Majorca, Velencia, Rome, Genoa, and Civitavecchia. As well as other parts of France such as Marseille, Giverny, and Normandy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Canada, France, Italy, Madagascar, Mexico, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Madagascar, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Francis’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups