Jetske Tinnevelt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jetske’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Sign Language - Dutch (NGT); learning French, German, Greek (modern)
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • I'm studying Classics and Dutch Sign Language
  • University
  • From Born in Nijmegen! though I've only been living there for 4 years
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

hm... trying to be a better sign language interpreter

ABOUT ME

I've finished studying Greek&Latin Language and Culture in Nijmegen and I'm in third year of Dutch Sign Language Interpreter School. I enjoy both! When I don't study I'm volunteering at the Deaf Organisation in Nijmegen, doing PR but most of all having fun :) One evening a week I work in a restaurant, I participate in jazz ballet classes which I enjoy very much but I'm really not good at it ;) I have joined archaeological campaigns to Ostia (2005) and Pompeii (2007 and probably next summer too) - that was simply fantastic! Last summer I worked at Lowlands Festival, which I'm intending to do again! I play the guitar and am trying to teach myself how to play tin whistle, but that hasn't been very succesful yet. There's always something interesting to do :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have only just heard about Couch Surfing and I think it's a wonderful principle to get to know people all around the world and to get to know cities with information from experts ;) It would be nice to meet people while you are traveling, it gives another dimension to your journey!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had two Couch Surfers up 'til now and it was a nice experience. I'd like to have more surfers over and perhaps surf myself.

Interests

classics, pets, sign language, languages in general, music (playing and listening), reading books (Sue Townsend!), bookshops, baking cookies, cooking in general (pasta!) etc etc etc... never a dull moment :)

  • pets
  • arts
  • culture
  • humanities
  • books
  • festivals
  • ballet dancing
  • cooking
  • baking
  • drinking
  • shopping
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • jazz
  • guitar
  • surfing
  • archeology
  • languages
  • sign language
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
Sue Townsend - basically everything; Roald Dahl; Tolstoj; many Dutch books; Roald Dahl; Oscar Wilde; Donna Tartt.

Movies:
Adam's Apples; Festen; The Graduate; Amelie; Billy Elliot

Music (hold on...):
Amanda Palmer; Antony & the Johnsons; Apocalyptica; Backwoods; Berio; Blondie; Boudewijn de Groot; Bush; Cranberries; Damien Jurado; Damien Rice; Dave Matthews Band; Deine Lakaien; The Dresden Dolls; Emmylou Harris; Eva de Roovere; Fiona Apple; Flowers from the man who shot your cousin; Frédérique Spigt; Frou Frou; Gillian Welch; Hillsong; Imogen Heap; Iron & Wine; Janis Ian; Jonatha Brooke; Joni Mitchell; José Gonzalez; Joshua Radin; Justin Timberlake; Kate Nash; Kings of Convenience; Kristin Hersh; K’s Choice; Kutless; Laïs; La Rue Kétanou; Linkin Park; Lisa Hannigan; Louise Attaque; Marike Jager; Melissa Etheridge; Metallica; Mickey 3D; Nelly Furtado; Nick Drake; Nightwish; Noir Désir; Nouvelle Vague; Opwekking; Patty Griffin; PJ Harvey; Placebo; Pet Shop Boys; Racoon; Regina Spektor; Sara Kroos; Simon & Garfunkel; Simeon ten Holt; Skillet; Snow Patrol; Sufjan Stevens; Suzanne Vega; Tori Amos; Treble; Violent Femmes; Vivaldi

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Trying to be an archaeologist in Pompeii! It was just awesome working there for two weeks behind bars, watching loads of people pass the house you're working in. I liked being in Greece too and, more basical, I really liked communicating with a deaf-blind man! I also was moved by finding a very very very small tea shop in Paris in between two big boulevards: it is located in a very silent alley (with ateliers/small art galleries), stuffed with tea bags/cans (big ones!) from bottom to top and hosted by an old and small woman (Russian?). You can drink tea for 2 euros per pot - how great is that! and the woman was very kind.

Teach, Learn, Share

Ask me about Latin texts ;) I've written my master thesis about (step)mothers in the declamation, so I'd be happy to tell you about it :)

Nijmegen is a Roman city, I could show you some Roman elements here. Classical antiquity is one of my interests :) Teaching you how to play the guitar is also one of the options, I could show you how to read Latin manuscripts or how to read Hebrew/Greek, and ofcourse I am willing to do some Dutch Sign Language (NGT) teaching :)

I would like to learn Finnish ;)

Join Couchsurfing to see Jetske’s full profile. It’s free!