Josh Johnson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Josh’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 22 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Lighting Designer and Production Manager for theatre, dan...
  • School of Hard Knocks
  • From Washington DC, Seattle, New York
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To expand my horizons / view and create art / meet other fun people


Friends describe me as having a positive, happy spirit. I enjoy meeting new people, especially one on one or in small groups where we can talk and get to know each other.

Aunque estoy tratando de aprender mas, ahora solo hablar intermedio español. Puedo entender todo cuando hablas a mi­ como si tengo cinco años! jajaja

In September 2008, I left New York City to go traveling through Latin America and begin a new life somewhere else. In May 2010, I finally arrived in that place - Buenos Aires. In the meantime, I slowly traveled through all of Central America, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, and part of Argentina. Check out my blog for all the details and photos - - although it's years out of date by this point! At a certain point, I just stopped blogging.


This question requires a deeper conversation!
My overall goal in life is to learn. To learn about myself, other people and cultures, the world.
Oh, and have fun while doing it!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Although I've only been on CouchSurfing for a few years, I've been doing similar things all my life:
I hitchhiked across Canada for four months when I was 20 and am eternally grateful to the wonderful people that picked me up and helped me out.
I worked in and managed Youth Hostels for five years, and met a lot of fantastic travelers there.
I've traveled to 35 countries so I have a pretty good sense of the world, but am always looking to expand my horizons and learn more about the world and it's people.


I only wish I had joined years ago! The people I've met on CS have been fantastic. It's a great way to meet friendly local people and allows one to get a real perspective on how people actually live, rather than the typical tourist experience.


I love seeing live performance, whether it be music, dance, theatre, or performance art. I'm also into contemporary art and architecture.
I like to hike and bike. I love nature, whether it be the mountains or the beach.
I like taking long walks and having deep talks and enriching my understanding of the world (it sounds hokey, I know, but it's true!)

  • arts
  • performing arts
  • architecture
  • contemporary art
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • tv
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • music
  • guitar
  • opera
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite books: Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, The Little Prince, Jung's Reflections and Dreams.
Favorite film: Until the End of the World by Wim Wenders. I also like Peter Greenaway and political thrillers. I even tear up at romantic comedies.
Music: too much to list. Everything from classic rock to far-out jazz to bluegrass to East African pop to...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Dived in the Great Barrier Reef. Surfed down a volcano in Nicaragua. Hang glided over Rio. Designed productions at Paris Opera and Tate Modern (London).

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to fix your computer, phone, stereo, TV.. to play guitar, basic carpentry and electric wiring..
Truthfully, most of my skills are only applicable in theaters - not terribly useful in everyday life!

I would like to learn more Spanish. I would like to learn how to cook better.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Josh’s full profile. It’s free!