Jyoti Careswell

London, United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jyoti’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher
  • I studied German and English Literature at Durham University
  • From Frome, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Surf the wave of life


My name is Indian, its a silent y, and means light and joy in Sanskrit! I don't know anyone else called Jyoti, so if you meet someone, send them my way :-)
I love travelling,the arts, meeting new people, finding out new things about myself and seeing the world progress. I am the kind of person who never wants to miss out on an opportunity.
I am soon to be a secondary school English teacher.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have couchsurfed all over the world, from Croatia to Sri Lanka, from Costa Rica to Denmark! Each experience has been unique and enjoyable. Unfortunately I haven't managed to host as many people as I would have liked to, but have enjoyed showing off Frome and the surrounding area to those who have made the journey! When I lived in Hannover and Vienna I attended meetings and events regularly.


I like theatre, modern art, literature, foreign films, board/card games, the great outdoors and cooking.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like all types of music apart from classical.
I love poetry, books and plays that challenge what I think and authors that use bare economic prose like Hemingway and the short story writer Raymond Carver.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think its impossible to put my finger on one amazing moment, but India is a country which has truly captured my heart. I have been twice and I cannot wait to return!
Most of my jobs have involved working with children and those little scamps always teach me so much! There is never a dull moment with the kiddies!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Italy, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Jyoti’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups