Joel Urquhart

Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Research - i.e. mounting lasers on the heads of great whi...
  • I'm technically a chemist, but I would rather play in a f...
  • From Toronto then Vancouver
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


To be accepted into Hogwarts school of witchcraft and wizardry. To quit my job.


Love all kinds of music from Nina Siomone to Calexico to Regina Spektor.
I am the greatest guitar player in the world, but I wish I could play the trumpet.
Religious history of the areas I happen to be travelling in.
Hiking, climbing, biking, walking, sleeping, eating.
I love motorcycles.
I am a musician but don't like to acknowledge it


Tolerance and empathy
Trying to judge people less
Accumulate as many new experiences and perspectives as possible while young enough to do so - before I become old and jaded.
I am a veggie (a vegetarian)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Thoroughly enjoy meeting people with completely different backgrounds than me. To fill my brain with as many different and contradicting perspectives as I can handle while I'm still young and can handle it.


Some, just not within an organization such as CS.


Enjoy playing music with people (I can play the guitar and sing for you if you like)
Going to see local little bands play
hiking and biking
religious and cultural history of areas (e.g. catherdrals, festivals, markets, etc.)
coffee and beer

swimming and lying on beaches and reading

Music, Movies, and Books

I have too much music but always looking to expand the library
Wish I was a personal friend of Robertson Davies and Kurt Vonnegut (and Bob Dylan)
I like folk music: pedal steels, acoustic and electric guitar, banjos, harmonicas
Bob Dylan

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was raised by a pack of wolves in Northern Canada ... and I have sat in a rickety old chair, smoking in the sun after dinner, less than ten feet from a bear while she sat on her hind legs and ate a flower looking like Winnie the Pooh.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you with your science homework.
I am mechanically inclined, worked as a motorcycle mechanic back in Canada - I love motorcycles
I can teach you to play guitar

Join Couchsurfing to see Joel’s full profile. It’s free!