Johnny Baer

Eugene, OR, USA

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Johnny’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning French, Japanese, Spanish
  • 29, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Waldorf Teacher/Farm project manager
  • Yes, continuing. . .
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me


Finding local couches to get a true feel for any and all countries!


Hello all! I hail from Rochester Minnesota, USA. I am looking to do all kinds of traveling all throughout Europe and even the world! I was raised on a small family farm with experience in raising and caring for sheep and cattle. I loves all animals and has no allergies to anything. I have raised many kinds of vegetables on the farm (this includes ground preparation, planting, weeding and harvesting), most of which was organic. I also went to school for Philosophy and Theology.

I am always looking for any opportunity to work and travel and to expand upon my knowledge of crops/farms in diverse areas of the world. Currently I am working as a Waldorf teacher in Eugene, Oregon. I am finishing up my teaching training at the end of this year (2016).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted in the past. I believe 3 from the USA but nothing international yet. I stayed with someone in France and he was really awesome and happy to share his community! I would love to update this soon with new experiences so I look forward to surfing with you!


This is a huge section as my interests grow by the day. I am currently interested in teaching wilderness skills to children. I lead a small group of 2nd and 3rd graders on outdoor explorations and skills building once a week.
I also enjoy woodworking/construction. I feel like I can easily learn to build/repair anything. I did a short stint of mandolin building ( ). Check it out if you're interested.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Amazing might be a stretch but it was something amazing to me. I was able to have the mind bending experience of backpacking across Europe in 2010 and enjoyed it to the fullest. I was gone for almost 6 months and wished that I had some way of tracking how many kilometers I walked. It would be an astounding number I am sure.

Teach, Learn, Share

ha.. I'm a teacher so I naturally love to teach anything to anyone if they have any interest in something I can teach. Basic carpentry, rock climbing, mountaineering and cycling are some things I would love to share and learn all at the same time. I am a novice in all of them. I also enjoy playing the guitar and being able to play with people is always a rich experience.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer a place to rest your weary bones for a few nights, show you the amazing Eugene experience and maybe a hot shower and share a meal or a few drinks. But I also know that, as an experienced traveler, it's nice to have a place to rest but also some space to explore on your own. I don't have any expectations of becoming your best friend or spending loads of time. I understand that sometimes you just need a place to sleep while you explore a new town or just passing through. So feel free to let me know what you need and I'll offer to play guide if I have time and energy but if you just want to explore on your own, I fully encourage that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Johnny’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups