Logo orange

John Schubert

San Diego, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 45, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Program Manager
  • MBA at Pepperdine, Studied at Oxford...
  • From San Diego, CA and Tulsa, OK
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To make the world better when I'm taking my shoes off at night, than it was when I woke in the morning and put them on. Make people happy, one smile, or corny joke at a time

ABOUT ME

Program Manager by trade lately. I currently work for NATO but will be back in the states again soon.

Love to ride sportbikes (the one in my profile is my latest) and been riding for a long time. Dad gave me the first at 11, and got my license at 14. Been riding nothing but Honda: RIDE RED!!

Love to stay fit. Believe it or not, I was 230 pounds (104Kg) 22 months ago. I was running 3-4 miles a day, hitting the gym for 2 hours...still gaining weight. Modified my diet a little and started dropping to what seems to be a healthy weight (165 pounds). In the process, I learned I love triathlons.

I am a member of the Triathlon Club of San Diego (TCSD). If you are ever visiting SD and want to go running, you MUST give me a call. Or, if you want to go open ocean swimming for a couple hundred meters, or a couple miles (ok, just 1-2), give me a shout. If you want to ride through some beautiful areas... you get the idea.

PHILOSOPHY

Oh, I guess this was the place to put my mission too. I live it mostly to enjoy every day, one day at a time. I have written on a little wall in the tent I'm currently living in that says, "Use today to make a better tomorrow."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've always wanted to help people new to an area I know. I've never known how. I found this site while overseas, at Kabul, Afghanistan. It just so happens I will be in need as my return travels through Europe are very flexible.

When I get back home to SD, I'll return the love and do my part to help out. The couch status will be a maybe, but the "Get a coffee, etc" is a def. Although, my work will likely include a commute up to LA, so I might only be avail on weekends. We'll see :D

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Brand new. NOOB!!!

Interests

Sportbikes, swimming, ocean, biking, running, woodworking, people who like to discuss ideas

Music, Movies & Books

Shawshank Redemption (movie), Clerks 2 (movie), Green Day, Alice in Chains, Ozzy, Metric, P!nk, Razorlight, Eminem, Far East Movement, Led Zepplin, Pink FLoyd, The Chemical Brothers, The Crystal Method, Metallica, The Offspring, Judas Priest, Rush, ummm, and a couple hundred more. Books: Getting to Yes, Born to Run

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Waved to Prince Charles in the middle of street about 5 feet away from him, and amazed I wasn't arrested.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach how to ride a motorcycle, how to do a triathlon. Learn how to speak French a little more. Share a love for life and friendship.

Countries I've Visited

Afghanistan

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile