Joao Oliveira's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joao’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 249 References 178 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Portuguese; learning English, French, Italian, Portuguese, Romanian, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • working/travelling/studying !
  • always learning !
  • From Braga, Portugal
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Smile and make everyone smile !


Trying to live as simple as posible. Love to be on the road and hitchhiking is an addiction. Curious and always looking for a new adventure. Trying to use hitchhiking as much as i can while travelling as it is a unique way of meeting people, for sure also an adventure and of course the cheapest way of travelling. Also I´m a low budget traveler!
I like to record some moments of life with my photographic cameras as my skills for drawing and painting are really bad :P
Love to be in contact with nature and everyday wanting more to move to a more rural place ( as i already lived for 26 years YnDaBabilOnia). Pizza and if Homemade pizza even better, says something about me, i think i couldn't live without Pizza :P I´m not a vegetarian but i normally do not eat meat.
Juggler forever and a juggler of life :P
Colors, sun, sweets, spicy, hats, cooking, onions, soja sauce, bicycle, unicycle, birkenstock sandals, necklaces,my camper-van, weird places to sleep, friends, smile and smile :) .... things that can also define me !


The world is a book and those who don't travel read only one page

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Since i became a member of cs community I´ve met many big heart people. As i spend some time of my life traveling i try to spread my word about this comunity to each one that i cross during my road trips/hitchiking trips.
Also hosting and surfing many couches around Europe and sharing some unique moments with other couchsurfers!


I crashed some couches in england, spain, france, germany, switzerland, netherlands, sweden, italy, belgium, romania, serbia, bulgaria, macedonia, montenegro, bosnia, portugal, lithuania, latvia, norway, denmark, moldavia, transdniestr, ukraine, slovenia, slovakia, hungary, czech republic and turkey. And i have been hosting so many nice people ! And i have been in some meetings in Portugal, Sweden and Romania.


As i kid i usted to love to climb, so now im a bit older but i still like to climb :) Rock climbing, Bouldering, Slackline, Highline. Photography and old analogic cameras. Cooking colorful food. Sustainable life, Ecology, Permaculture, Ecovilages, Ecobuilding and construction,... Juggling around. Basketball my forever favourite sport. Playing my ukulele( even if im not talented at all for any musical instrument), my aromatic plants, dumpster diving, freecycle, hitchhiking
Old people , narrow and labyrinth streets , cobbled streets, hugs, fruit and vegetables markets, long distance old train trips, nag champa incense, friends, cool hats and colorful socks :)

Music, Movies, and Books


Music yes yes , not all kind of music but almost everything, from reggae to folk music, world music, ska, rock, alternative, indian, gipsy.
Some music that i have been listening in the last days:
alina orlova, gogol bordello, bonobo, makyo, spakr, tryo, les man´louches, amparanoia, , regina spekctor, seu jorge, karpatt...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My first travel to Mexico when i was 10 years old
Volunteering time in Romania
Hitchhiking trips around Europe
Hitchhiking with a police car
I've found 150 euros in coins inside a shoes box
Sleeping in a cave in the middle of the mountains in Crimea, Ukraine.
Unique experience in Trans-dniestr( do you know where is it?)

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmm i think i know something about photography :), juggling stuff i love and i really like to teach the others(all my flatmates learned how to juggle :) ), i can try to teach you portuguese(at least some words), and im always open to learn new things, im very curious :) Ah i really want to learn how to play an instrument !and something about biologic agriculture.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mauritania, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Germany, Portugal, Romania, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    28 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Joao’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups