Jonathan Wallis's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 23 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning German
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2020
  • Writing, Philosophy
  • In the Humanities
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey all, after leaving my last job doing research for a think-tank, I caught the travel-bug. Now I'm solo backpacking through Northern Georgia, into Appalachia and beyond.

I lived in Seattle 18-22, working blue-collar jobs and reading in philosophy, history, psychology and the humanities until I could get a job in research - without a college degree! When I found the perfect job, I moved to Oakland for almost three years, learning more and more and experiencing everything good and ill about the Bay Area. But nothing lasts forever, my think-tank ran out of money. Now, I'm taking that as an opportunity to go on the adventures I've always wanted, learn a little more through dirt and sweat, and a little less through books and desks.

And that's the short version of my life story so far. As you can guess, there's little enough I don't love to discuss, from theology to politics to hearing about how each of us lives and learns.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To make friends on the road, get in out of the rain, and learn where and what I can

Interests

  • humanities
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • martial arts
  • history
  • philosophy
  • sci-fi

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Family Crest, Ludovico Einaudi, Iron and Wine, First Aid Kit, Sabaton and more

Authors: Walt Whitman, Ranier Maria Rilke, Nietzsche, Pierce Brown, Ada Palmer, Robert Kaplan, Francis Fukuyama

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The first thing off the top of my head, getting a job in my field without a college degree. By the time I'm done with this backpacking adventure, though, that'll be at the top of my list!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Psychology, History, Philosophy, Martial Arts and Sword-fighting, Introspection, Meditation

Learn: There's a lot I need to learn! Yoga, Martial Arts, Survival Skills, German, Horse-back riding, Singing, Martial Arts, Repair/Handywork, Motorcycling - and anything else that's there to be learned.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Traveling just with what I can carry, but more than happy to chip in for food/misc expenses, to cook, to clean, and any other way I can be handy or helpful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile.