joshua gordon's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see joshua’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 63, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Ferry Captain, Sailor, Outdoor Educator
  • BS wildlife Biology
  • From Washington, DC, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

HI- I am one of those "all those who wander are not lost" sorts. My "careers" over the years have centered on outdoor and environmental education, trades work like carpentry, boat work, mechanics, and volunteering on the side for environmental organizations, including GreenPeace and the Hudson River Sloop Clearwater. My experiences have taken me into the wildernesses of the United States, sailing across the Atlantic, traveling through Europe, into the USSR, and as far as Australia, which is where live now. Things that are important to me are doing good work, humor, community, giving away, and experiencing life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We are part of a global community that is made so much closer by the internet connection. I am looking for opportunities to learn from and about other people and cultures, and to share the experiences that I have tucked away. I have little money, and so when I travel, it is "on the cheap"- so I usually find a way to work or volunteer. That does not mean that I expect my host to pay for me to be there. I am responsible, and will support myself. I have a Captain License in the US and also in Australia, much of my work is boat related, but as mentioned above I have other hands on skills as well. I am willing to offer space in my back room, and have been taken into other's homes over the years.

Interests

Many- Natural History, technology, helping others -people and animals, music - I play mandolin and washtub bass, dance- swing styles mostly....and on.

Generally, I am interested in sharing things with the people I meet- experiences, knowledge, ideas.

  • animals
  • dancing
  • education
  • boating
  • technology
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • camping
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • history
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I play folk/roots/topical music. My biggest influence is Pete Seeger. He was a mentor in many ways, and lived his life working and singing to make the world a better place. There are many influences, he is at the top. I also enjoy swing music, and dance Lindy and other styles....
I remember two major books from my childhood- "The USS Constitution"- a book about the events of that ship and times, and "The Way West" AB Guthrie Jr. about a boy's adventures in the wildernesses of the US. These books just fueled my interest in the sea, sailing, and the wilderness. Samuel Clemens as well-

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Amazing...that is a bit relative. I participated in the return voyage of the Soviet-American Sail 1989. I was part of a group of 25 Americans who traveled to the Soviet Union , and sailed back to the US on board a 156' schooner with 25 Soviets. We were in the USSR for about two weeks. We stayed in hosts' apartments in Moscow and Leningrad, then joined the Te Vega. On the way through the Baltic, we crossed paths by chance with the Rainbow Warrior, before going on to Iceland, Canada, and finally New York. We had two weeks of friendship touring on the East Coast. I am still in touch with some of the Russians.

Teach, Learn, Share

One of the most rewarding things for me is to facilitate someone's learning of a skill- like sailing, climbing, camping, music. Whatever I know, I am willing to share with someone who is interested. Of course that means I am a bit of a sponge as well.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share a laugh, a song, physical labor, adventures, stories. I am willing to help out with even the most mundane tasks...

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Canada, England, France, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see joshua’s full profile. It’s free!