Jessica Nelson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 3 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (North Levantine), French, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • I'm a graduate student at the American University in Beir...
  • Currently working on my Masters degree!
  • From Davenport, Iowa, USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


I'm a 23-year-old graduate student, focusing on Middle Eastern Studies and Arabic at the American University in Beirut. I'm thoroughly enjoying my time here in the Middle East, and I'm looking forward to any and all travels around the area and elsewhere.

I'm from an average town in Iowa, nothing big or fancy. I graduated from University of Iowa in 2010, and I'm doing my best to avoid the "real world" for a while. :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


At this point, I can't host. I'm hoping to change that in the future, but for now, I can meet up for coffee. Please note that I'm a student, so I'm not always available...but I'll try my best. :)


languages, culture, history, politics...

  • culture
  • coffee
  • politics
  • rock climbing
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Requiem for a Dream, V for Vendetta, Inception, Le Grand Voyage, Mar Adentro, Amelie, No Country for Old Men, Constantine, Gran Torino, Eternal Sunshine for the Spotless Mind

I'm a huge book nerd! I don't know if I could narrow it down to titles. But my favorite authors are George Orwell and Charles Bukowski, and I love biographies.

Music is a huge part of my life; I couldn't go a day without it. With that said, I don't know if I can narrow down my favorite bands! One thing you must know, however, is that I am a die-hard Beatles fan.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of my most memorable experiences is climbing a 500-foot sand dune at 5am in the middle of a desert in Oman to watch the sun rise. It was the most beautiful thing I've ever seen! Also climbing Mt. Sinai to see the sun rise on Easter morning -- I think there's a pattern here with me and desert sunrises.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Australia, Colombia, Egypt, Finland, Georgia, Latvia, Lithuania, Oman, Puerto Rico, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Estonia, Lebanon

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!