Julia Rogers's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish, Swahili
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Travel Consultant and owner, EnRoute Consulting
  • Julia: Hamilton College '06
  • From New Jersey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see the world, meet interesting people and make the world a better place.

ABOUT ME

I currently reside in Vermont, USA. My main endeavor is my consulting business, which helps young people plan a gap year before or during college. I also love to mountain bike, hike, snowboard, enjoy the outdoors and keep chickens!

In 2010, my husband Tom and I embarked on a 10-month, round-the-world trip. We visited 13 countries with fascinating cultures and met interesting people along the way. We are an out-going, friendly and courteous couple that will be thrilled to stay with new friends and learn about their country.

PHILOSOPHY

live the life you have imagined

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We hope to strengthen ties between couchsurfers and hosts by being fun, respectful guests. We also look forward to cultural exchange that comes from being current surfers and future hosts.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couchsurfed in New Zealand but have met couchsurfers in Turkey and have kept in touch.

Interests

Hiking, photography, being outside, writing, traveling, learning about new cultures, eating and enjoying food and drink

We are also very interested in politics, music and society and love talking late into the night with thoughtful people.

We are passionate about the slow food and localvore movements. We love visiting markets - both craft and food. They really give you a sense of place!

Julia is currently authoring a book about weddings around the world and would love to talk to people about this celebration in their country.

  • chickens
  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • dining
  • drinking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • snowboarding
  • business

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Big Lebowski, Shawshank Redemption, Princess Bride, Die Hard

Music: Ryan Adams, Ray Charles, Gillian Welsh, Wolf Parade, White Stripes, indie rock and folk, bluegrass, motown, bongo flava!

Books: Life of Pi, Ishmael, The Omnivores Dilemma

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seen: Grizzly Bears in Alaska

Done: Lived in a remote village in Tanzania teaching health in the schools

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Italy, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ecuador, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups