Julia Gerb's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Russian; learning Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • living, breathing, dancing, educating myself, and traveli...
  • Psychologist
  • From ChIJAVkDPzdOqEcRcDteW0YgIQQ
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I always find it difficult to describe myself, I guess I am many things, often at the same time ;) I enjoy new things, nature, cooking and eating, reading, sometimes writing, hiking, hithchiking, a bit of photography...

I was born in Russia, but grew up in Berlin, which is a pretty bad ass awesome place to be, I've done this and that but most recently I've just finished my masters degree in psychology. Not feeling quite ready to join the adult and working world yet, I decided to head out for extensive travels across Asia with my boyfriend Jonathan. The plan is to travel overland by hitchhiking from Germany to China / India and back. But that's a long story that I happily share when we meet :)

Some call me Confusious, I dont' know why.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hosted mainly friends and friends of friends so far. The experiences i had with couchsurfing so far were great and I am looking forward to meeting new people on future paths.

Interests

Music, literature, cooking and eating, spending some awesome time with friends, I guess stuff everybody likes.

Unsurprisingly I have some affection for psychology, hoping to one day understand humans and all their crazyness, which unfortunately didn't happen yet. I hope aI am getting closer.

I am a city girl and I've enjoyed what Berlin has to offer to the fullest in the past. But in recent years I've been enjoing hiking more than I do a three day techno rave. Strange things happen, I know... So now instead of hanging out in crowded clubs I usually head for a trip somewhere whenever I can. I'm still up for grabbing beers though ;)

I am new to photography and would like to get more into it. I would appreciate any help on that matter. I am up for discussions of any kinds, since I am interested in bascally everything around me and I'm always happy to learn sómething I didn't know before.

  • literature
  • photography
  • festivals
  • cooking
  • partying
  • politics
  • traveling
  • psychology
  • hitchhiking
  • nature
  • humor
  • critical thinking
  • vagabonding
  • changing the world

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I love to read, mainly classics, to name a few, i really like: Dostojewski, Zola, Zweig, the Mann brothers, Oscar Wilde, Steinbeck and others. Recently getting into more modern stuff like Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Elfriede Jelinek, Max Frisch and Margaret Atwood. But seriously, life is too short to list all the good reads out there.

Movies/Series: Kill Bill, Game of Thrones, Black Mirror, Breaking Bad...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing things were my travel experiences, particularly hitchhiking trips through Europe and Southamerica. I was overwhelmed of southamerican hospitality, it was great to see how warmly people treat total strangers.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would say I am a passably good cook and I enjoy to cook for or better with my friends, guests and hosts. It's a great way to spend time together and to get to know each other a bit. I had been a vegetarian for a few years, so I happily introduce you to vegetarian cooking if you are interested. I am also very excited to learn from you.

But besides food, I like to get a feeling of how it really is to live in the place I am visiting. I am very much interested in learning about your perception of the world. In fact every personal encounter is the sharing of one's personal universe.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Knowledge, stories, warmth and interest. Gratitude, company and maybe most importantly: respect towards you and your place. Well, I already mentioned the cooking. How about Russian and Greman language skills? Or alternatively some bad German humor paired with Russian optimistic resignation? :D

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Iran, Italy, Kazakhstan, Netherlands, Peru, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!