K.T. Lauda's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see K.T.’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 49, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • free lance artist, writer, scholar
  • professor of philosophy, 1998-2012
  • From Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

I am a late but passionate traveler. I need it for my work as a writer, scholar, political and ecological activist. I usually travel on my own, but that can be changed.
I am funny and a good conversationalist, I used to teach philosophy at the university of Vienna. I am a freelance now. And a stern eccentric. I have a view quirks, like hating moving staircases.
I also am a bit full-bodied, so extremly sporty people might not harmonize with my body type.
I am an ex-smoker, but not an anti-smoke fanatic, and into mild drinking, but nothing heavy, as I am in my own way a sucker for manners, a cultured life style and health care.
I love good food of all kinds.
I am very much into movies, TV shows, science, history, ethnology, spirituality, also anything related to gender issues. I am left-leaning but love myself a tolerant educated conservative with profound knowledge about his place, people and culture.
I reject fanaticism of all camps and kinds.
Yes, I have a soft spot for beauty, in both men and women, and transgenders too. I like them all.
I am just really not a big fan of over-active, hectic people whose only concern is the quick or slow buck. I'd rather not intervene with their all too demanding routine to serve Mr. Mammon.
Also very nerdy tech-obsessed people with no idea of manners might not be too happy with me.
If someone stares into their mobile phone while we sit at the same table I take this as a grave insult.

I just love to see both cities and open landscapes, and take in all historical and present phenomena. But be prepared that I will care for the well-being of the poor, the minorities, women, children, the animals and the arts, for this is just the way I role. I cannot deal with right-wing neo-liberal cynicism.

My favorite places so far have been France, England, Spain, Italy, Belgium, and on a good day my own country Austria. I used to love New York, but am a bit skeptical by now.
I have traveled Russia, Sweden, Holland, Germany with mixed feeling.
Greece when I was a kid, but would like to know more.
Switzerland is basically not for me.
Unsure about India, China, Latin America.
Have been to Senegal, hard but great, would like to know Africa better.
On my wish list are: Denmark, Israel, Island, Finland, Georgia, Armenia, Canada, Kerala, Japan, Poland, Ukraine, Morocco, Egypt, Mongolia, Australia, the US (South and West), the Pacific world, maybe parts of China and Siberia, and maybe Brazil.
Yes, it is a Hippiesque choice, I am also a scholar and researcher of religions and technologies of ecstasy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet people, spend less money on accomodaion and exchange knowledge and all sort of qualities and energies. I also, I admit it, love young and good-looking people of all kinds and genders. Just to look at them keeps me young and healthy.

Interests

tons. movies, TV, science, history, ethnology, psychology, spirituality, culture, theatre, dance, art, literature, nightlife, food, drink, manners, the good life, people ...

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • beauty
  • dancing
  • dining
  • coach
  • nightlife
  • partying
  • drinking
  • politics
  • technology
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • biology
  • freelancing
  • history
  • psychology
  • religion
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Kubrick, Soderbergh, Cronenberg, young Scorsese, Fellini, Pasolini, Wong Kar Wai, Truffault ...
TV: Hannibal, Sherlock, The Knick, early True Blood, Transparent ...
Books: Melville, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, de Lillo, Lawrence, Austen, Flaubert, Ph.K. Dick and always, always Shakespeare
Music: everything, Pop, World Music, Jazz, Classic, experimental, just not Heave Metal or Volksmusik. Stopped learning the last pop fashions since the Zero years, so post Gaga I am blank. You can teach me though ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Key note speaker in a conference on biology and film, rocking the house. Visiting my favourite gay porn star in San Diego. Annoucing to flirt with 5 strangers at a film party, ending up flirting with 10. Writing the best thesis on philosophy in my local university, on Kant (it did not help), spontaniously booking a plain ride at 2pm to see my favourite celebrity the same evening in Berlin.

Teach, Learn, Share

Basically everything. I am willing to teach, share and learn. I know a bit about philosophy, history, politics, many cultures, religion, science, the arts etc.
But most of all I love to teach, to share and to learn anything from/with interesting people.
I am a bit of a life coach too, outside of mainstream psychology. I used to know a lot about Freud, but I reject Psychoanalysis by now.

What I Can Share with Hosts

see above

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands Antilles, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Germany, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see K.T.’s full profile. It’s free!