Paul Kustov's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 79% response rate
  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 75 References 61 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning German, Polish, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Programmer
  • BA in Computer Science from Keble College, University of ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

(!!!) PLEASE READ: I am not hosting until November-December 2017 (!!!)


Et me et mundum circa me meliora facere


I have completed my Bachelor's degree at university, worked in London and then transferred to Moscow. Then back to London, and now I am in Singapore.

I generally try to spend more time outside than in front of my laptop, and sometimes there comes a point when everything has to be dropped for a week or two, and I hit the open road and explore the new places. Depending on the time of the year, location and other factors I prefer hitch-hiking, motorcycling or driving.

You get ++ if you:
- Dance Argentine Tango.
- Have a PPL or an RYA qualification, or are training for one.
- Speak Spanish.
- Speak Hebrew.
- Can teach me something else practical that I cannot do.


1) Do not over-complicate things
2) Solve the problems in the course of their appearance
3) Live the life you want. Set the goals. Achieve them.
4) Don't be an unjustified snob. I went to Oxford and know enough already ;-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Summer 2008: Riga (LV), Warsaw (PL), Berlin and Cologne (DE) and Bruges (BE).

Easter 2009: Bratislava (SK), Budapest (HU), Vienna and Innsbruck (AT).

Summer 2009: Moscow (RU), Lviv (UA), Kraków (PL), Wrocław (PL), Dresden (DE) and Brugge (BE).

Easter 2010: Prague (CZ), Budapest (H), Ljubljana (SLO), San Dona' Di Piave (I), Bergamo (I), Luzern (CH), Reims (F).

Summer 2010: All over Europe

Autumn 2011: USA (Chicago, New York), Canada (Toronto)

October/November 2013, July 2015: Israel (Jerusalem, Tel Aviv)

June 2015: Sweden (Stockholm, Ystad), Germany (Bremen)

September 2015: Shanghai (CN), Japan (Hakodate, Beppu, Hiroshima, Kanazawa)

February-March 2016: Buenos Aires, Argentina

HOSTED: A lot in 5 cities across 3 countries!


Travelling to places I've never been to before;

Argentine Tango

Cycling - current maximum is 50 miles + 3 hours of swimming in the sea, in one day. All on two salmon sandwiches and a number of litres of water.

Swimming - especially in La Manche in the summer.


Ice-Skating - tends to happen indoors as Britain never has any ice on the streets :o)

Hitch-hiking - UK, Holland, Belgium, Germany, Poland, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Romania, Bulgaria, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Italy, Switzerland, France, Canada, Japan. The longest single trip - Vienna, Austria to London, England, in 35 hours (ca. 1900km)

Sailing - I had a sailing cruise trip on a 6-person yacht, and absolutely loved it. We went around the south coast of England and the Isle of Wight.

Photography - I am a proud owner of Nikon D90 with a Speedlight SB-600 flash and 35mm & 50mm fix lens.

  • photography
  • perfumes
  • dancing
  • tango
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • yachting
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • vipassana

Music, Movies, and Books

Current Music Favourites: Muse, Scorpions, HammerFall, Sonata Arctica

TV Shows: The Apprentice; How I Met Your Mother.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailed in the Gulf of Finland; got taken out into an open sea and spent 7 hours there in burning sunlight and 1.5-metre waves.

I also did a social experiment on CouchSurfing: before I left on holiday for 2 weeks, I had lots of CouchSurfing requests and thought to myself: "Why don't I put the flat to use while I am away?" So I left keys with the security guys at work, prepared the flat and printed out detailed instructions for couchsurfers regarding their stay: what to see & visit, where to eat, how to change the bedding & how to pass keys to the next couchsurfers.

The experiment went extremely well - I've had lots of nice 'thank you' notes, and the blind trust worked -- nothing has been damaged/lost. Furthermore, I've gained a lot of new connections who are currently travelling and blogging about their adventures -- and I am a part of them :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook Spaghetti with Gorgonzola, make a cocoa drink better than any café, teach Russian, teach English, and share lots of stories from travelling, couchsurfing and more.

Additionally, I can take professional photos if I've got my Nikon DSLR with me.

...oh, and I can fix computers ;) lol

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belarus, Russian Federation, Singapore, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups